Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Thai Shrimp and Rice (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Thai Shrimp and Rice (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2003

      Wonderful dish Bev!!! The unusual mix of flavors was just great! The only thing I did different than the recipe was to only put 1/4tsp cayenne pepper because I knew my kids couldn't handle anymore. I cooked my shrimp in boiling water for 3 minutes and then threw them in the crockpot with the snow peas - I only let them cook for another 15-20 minutes because I didn't want the shrimp to be overcooked. I would definitely call this more of an adult dish - my 8 year olds ate it but didn't care for it much so I'll probably entertain adults with it next time so others can enjoy it as much as we did! (It makes quite a bit.) Thanks for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      Delicious dish and so easy to make, however next time I will use less cayene pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      A real winner. I used UNcooked shrimp, however, and it turned out 100% perfect. I have a concerned that using cooked shrimp, as called for in the recipe, may have resulted in dry seafood. In an event, a star recipe, and I'm making it again as a side dish with grilled fish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This is an amazing recipe! I've made it twice and it just keeps getting better! I accidentally tried jasmine rice also and boy did that ruin the entire pot. I love it so much I went directly to the store, purchased my ingredients...again, and started over. I made a couple of changes. I added half a bag of diced carrots. I found this made for a crunchier texture. I also added a cup of chopped celery instead of snow peas. I toasted enough coconut to sprinkle on for each meal. It was so quick and easy. Thanks so much for this flavorful addition to my cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      I made this recipe for a dinner party. I clearly do not know what converted rice is. Because the rice turned out like a pile of mush. It was disgusting. I probably should have tried it out before the party. The flavor in this recipe is amazing, I made it just as prescribed minus the coconut because I didn't know if everyone liked coconut. I had it on the table so it could be added. Everyone loved the flavor just not the texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      We used this dish alone as one course at a Thai theme dinner. It was a hit with everyone! We increased the quantity of shrimp by 50% and that seemed ideal for the 8 adults. We followed the cayenne measurement in the recipe and found it was perfect. The dish displays wonderfully with a variety of colour. I would recommend adding a little more shredded roasted coconut on the garnish both for appearance, taste and to gain a slight additional texture. It's a wonderful crockpot recipe and a real keeper. Thanks Bev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      This is a very good recipe. Next time I may try adding more coconut -maybe 1/2 cup - since the coconut taste semed to get lost in the ginger and pepper. I also used less pepper than the original recipe. The dish was delicious though. I believe the slow cooker was the best cooking implement ever invented. Thank you Bev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      This dish was served at a "Crockpot Picnic" that I hosted. The instructions were followed exactly except the cayenne pepper was reduced to about 1/4 teaspoons. We also boiled the shrimp about 3 minutes first, before adding them to the crockpot for the last 15-20 minutes of cooking time. Excellent dish that everyone enjoyed. Thanks AGAIN Bev for your help in making my party a success. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      I also found the coriander a little overpowering. I went with 1/2 tsp of cayenne & didn't find it nearly spicy enough for my taste. This is a beautiful dish with all it's colours & the toasted coconut is a must...it's not just a garnish :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      I hate to rain on the parade but we did not like this dish. I had to add more liquid for the rice and thereby increased the cooking time, making for a very late dinner. We found the coriander to be overpowering. I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      this one didn't work for me, but i messed things up a bit when i substituted jasmine rice for the converted rice. whoops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Thai Shrimp and Rice (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 322.3
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    13%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 115.0 mg
    38%
    Sodium 991.9 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 13.0 g
    52%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites