14 Reviews

Duonyte, thank you for posting this recipe and making the edited Note. I'd tried it once and didn't review it because our results were not good. I used the only pearl tapioca I was able to find, but clearly, it was too large. I ran it through two porridge cycles and almost double the amount of coconut milk, and the pearls were still really tough and just plain hard in the middle. When I read your added note, and used the very very tiny tapioca, the results were perfect. We'll be making this often during the winter months! I can't wait, the flavor is incredibly wonderful.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay June 17, 2007

To use the large pearl tapioca, I soaked the pearls in water overnight before using in recipe. It did not require extra liquid after doing this and was the perfect texture at the end of the porridge cycle. By accident, I left out the vanilla and it still tasted great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nepofreedom September 23, 2007

This was made for DH, tapioca pudding is a favorite of his. The only real difference that I made was to use minute tapioca (he won't eat the larger kind)and cooking it in a pot as I don't use have a rice cooker. He liked the coconut for a change and really enjoyed it for late snack last night.This pudding doesn't set up firm and solid but stays loser and creamy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 17, 2007

I thought this turned out really well, but I had to add about 2 extra cups of coconut milk because the pearls hadn't cooked completely and it was beginning to dry out too much and stick. Other than that, it was delicious, easy and my husband loves it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladychen September 12, 2006

this is my first attempt at tapioca pudding. Delicious and easy. I don't have a fancy rice cooker, just an old fashion one. But it still worked. I'm allergic to coconut so I used soy milk instead. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. After the first cycle completed on the rice cooker, I stirred thoroughly. Repeated 2 more times. Tasted the pears and they were cooked. Then I added the vanilla as per the instructions. Next time I'm not going to add vanilla. I think for the soymilk, it tasted more creamy before I added the vanilla, also, the vanilla gave it a dark color and an alcoholic after taste. Oh, I ran out of sugar, substituted splenda and it tasted great. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 January 16, 2012

Very good! I did ours on the stove but be careful if you do that as I had the heat to high (broken stove actually) and some burnt.. I used a coconut milk that had no preservatives in it, hmm, my tapioca pearls were not as small as sesame seeds but they cooked fine, they were not the large ones though!! I used a halal vanilla paste. I cooked it until the pearls were mainly clear and then turned off the heat and let it sit covered on the same burner until slightly warm. We ate it at room temperature with no refrigerator time. I would like to try this again and not overcook any part of it. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game, Dec 2010 - Jan 2011

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat December 23, 2010

I am certainly glad you added the note to your recipe. We can only get the small crushed seed like tapioca here. I love cooking with coconut milk and I have cooked this recipe twice, one with vanilla extract and then again with almond extract. At Christmas time I am going to try peppermint extract. Thanks for posting a delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song March 29, 2010

This is so easy and so good! not sure why I've never made tapioca pudding before. guess I thought it was hard, but once I found this recipe, I'm pretty much addicted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy loves Dessert January 30, 2010

This is awesome tapioca pudding. I scaled this down to serve 4 and it worked well on the stovetop (My rice cooker is super basic). I mixed all the ingredients except the vanilla in a small pot and put it on the stove, medium high. I covered the lid and stirred (using a whisk) occasionally until it started to reach a boil. At this point, I stirred it constantly as it thickened. It got really thick and I could see the tapioca pearls starting to change from white to translucent. Once most of them were clear and the mixture was thick, I took it off the heat, stirred in the vanilla, covered it, and let it sit until we were done with dinner and ready to eat it. It was yummy! Great, easy recipe. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie November 08, 2009

Memories of Thailand came back to me! I used the bigger tapioca and as another reviewer suggested I soaked the pearls and it worked fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia November 05, 2009
Coconut Tapioca Pudding (Rice Cooker)