11 Reviews

My first attempt at a sweet bread (I am Trinidadian) this was moist and delicious and overall a good recipe for sweet bread. I put a half cup extra of coconut, cus I love lots of coconut in my sweet bread. I think the freshly grated coconut gave this sweet bread its moistness (in blender, do strain liquid before adding to batter). The fruit peel gave a strong citrus taste, but some people do like that, I would put less next time. It did bake longer than the time recommended. I would definitely use this recipe again with my alterations. Thanks Wizzy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlover September 08, 2009

What a lovely smell while it is baking. Very solid loaves. We had one for supper and DH took one to work to share with his co-workers. I would rate this higher (and if possible would edit my current rating later on), if the ingredients were listed more coherently. I had to REWRITE the ingredients in the margin in order to make sense of the cooking directions. Also, as noted by a previous reviewer (which I JUST read), the recipe lists as making only ONE loaf, however this makes TWO very solid, dense loaves....so that skews the nutrition facts. I substituted cherry-flavored cranberries for the real thing (missed that on my shopping list!), and used fresh orange zest in place of the mixed peel and some candied pineapple pieces. The golden raisins I used gave the loaves a very nice look as well. This is certainly a great=tasting 4- or 5-star recipe---if the ingredients list is changed!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber April 05, 2007

(Though I made it is written, I'm leaving no stars because I must have done something wrong). This is an interesting quick bread recipe! I used a combination of candied pineapple, papaya and mango. It's almost a fruitcake. I loved the cherries and raisins. Nice cherry-coconut taste and. I'd give it 5-stars for taste. My dough was very hard to combine and I had to bake it far longer then suggested. I'll make it again to determine what went wrong this time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 March 14, 2007

I made a couple of changes to this. First of all, I omitted the sultanas as I don't like them. I also subbed 1 C oil for the melted butter. It came together very well. Also it made 2 loaves which is much more than 8 servings so for us, the nutrition numbers are too high.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl February 25, 2007

What a treat this coconut sweet bread is de Roche. It smelled wonderful while baking and tastes even better! The textures in this bread are simply amazing. All of the different flavours blended together beautifully. I didn't have any mixed peel so I substituted with candied orange peel. I just love this delicious bread, it certainly is worth the extra effort. Thank you so much for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 31, 2007

Oh the house smelled so good this morning while baking this bread! Only made 1 loaf. Didn't know what mixed peel was so it was omitted.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl October 30, 2006

yummy yummy! just make sure you remember that this recipe yeilds enough for TWO loaf pans. yummy yummy yummy yummy! dont be afraid to add raisins, nuts... be creative

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissBuffyWuffy January 13, 2010

its very cocnutty and has a good flavor

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. January 31, 2007

This recipe is wonderful! A bit too much sugar though, I only used 2 cups and it was still very sweet. I also used 3 cups regular flour and 1 1/2 cups wheat flour, a bit of coconut milk and grated ginger. I will make it again with less sugar next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanine D. September 28, 2014

This recipe was excellent, and of course you can modify it to your liking, however i did not change any of the ingredients. What i did do was to split the mixture into three loaf pans instead of two, which allowed it to cook faster and retain the beautiful color and perfect texture on the outside. Cooking with two loaf pans took longer for the insides to bake and the outside was a little dry. All and in all, its the perfect recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjuean2000 December 15, 2013
Coconut Sweet Bread - Trinidad