Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Sweet Bread - Trinidad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Sweet Bread - Trinidad

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2009

      My first attempt at a sweet bread (I am Trinidadian) this was moist and delicious and overall a good recipe for sweet bread. I put a half cup extra of coconut, cus I love lots of coconut in my sweet bread. I think the freshly grated coconut gave this sweet bread its moistness (in blender, do strain liquid before adding to batter). The fruit peel gave a strong citrus taste, but some people do like that, I would put less next time. It did bake longer than the time recommended. I would definitely use this recipe again with my alterations. Thanks Wizzy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      What a lovely smell while it is baking. Very solid loaves. We had one for supper and DH took one to work to share with his co-workers. I would rate this higher (and if possible would edit my current rating later on), if the ingredients were listed more coherently. I had to REWRITE the ingredients in the margin in order to make sense of the cooking directions. Also, as noted by a previous reviewer (which I JUST read), the recipe lists as making only ONE loaf, however this makes TWO very solid, dense loaves....so that skews the nutrition facts. I substituted cherry-flavored cranberries for the real thing (missed that on my shopping list!), and used fresh orange zest in place of the mixed peel and some candied pineapple pieces. The golden raisins I used gave the loaves a very nice look as well. This is certainly a great=tasting 4- or 5-star recipe---if the ingredients list is changed!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      (Though I made it is written, I'm leaving no stars because I must have done something wrong). This is an interesting quick bread recipe! I used a combination of candied pineapple, papaya and mango. It's almost a fruitcake. I loved the cherries and raisins. Nice cherry-coconut taste and. I'd give it 5-stars for taste. My dough was very hard to combine and I had to bake it far longer then suggested. I'll make it again to determine what went wrong this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I made a couple of changes to this. First of all, I omitted the sultanas as I don't like them. I also subbed 1 C oil for the melted butter. It came together very well. Also it made 2 loaves which is much more than 8 servings so for us, the nutrition numbers are too high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      What a treat this coconut sweet bread is de Roche. It smelled wonderful while baking and tastes even better! The textures in this bread are simply amazing. All of the different flavours blended together beautifully. I didn't have any mixed peel so I substituted with candied orange peel. I just love this delicious bread, it certainly is worth the extra effort. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Oh the house smelled so good this morning while baking this bread! Only made 1 loaf. Didn't know what mixed peel was so it was omitted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      yummy yummy! just make sure you remember that this recipe yeilds enough for TWO loaf pans. yummy yummy yummy yummy! dont be afraid to add raisins, nuts... be creative

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      its very cocnutty and has a good flavor

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      This recipe was excellent, and of course you can modify it to your liking, however i did not change any of the ingredients. What i did do was to split the mixture into three loaf pans instead of two, which allowed it to cook faster and retain the beautiful color and perfect texture on the outside. Cooking with two loaf pans took longer for the insides to bake and the outside was a little dry. All and in all, its the perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      everyone loves my tasty sweetbread, much thanks to this recipe and a personal touch my family cannot get enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Sweet Bread - Trinidad

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 986.0
     
    Calories from Fat 421
    42%
    Total Fat 46.8 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 34.1 g
    170%
    Cholesterol 112.0 mg
    37%
    Sodium 747.8 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 134.3 g
    44%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 69.6 g
    278%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried mixed fruit

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites