31 Reviews

LOVED the dipping sauce. The shrimp were just OK on their own, but the sauce COMPLETED them & made them MUCH BETTER.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffykins :) September 23, 2002

These were better than restaurant quality! I added a little touch of Panko the coconut (just for extra crunch). I added a little garlic powder and a tiny bit of cayenne to the batter. This is a keeper in our book. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mewmew September 27, 2008

Wow! My wife always orders Coconut Shrimp when we go out, so when I saw this recipe I wanted to try it. It took a little longer than 40 minutes to fix, but it was fantastic. The dipping sauce was fantastic for me and the first half with no Tobasco was rated superb by my wife. I split a two pound package of 21-25 sized shrimp and we are already looking forward to the repeat feast. While the shrimp was cooking in the oven, we cooked a potato sliced into fries at 400 degrees. Again Wow!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonJ5023 December 12, 2011

This was amazing. The shrimp itself was really good and the dipping sauce made it even better. Quite frankly, it looked really wrong when I was making it and I warned my husband that it wasn't going to be one of our best dinners. Then we bit into the shrimp... It's a keeper. The only changes I made: I never use salt in anything I cook, and I used about twice as much white pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathianne August 25, 2009

My fiance and I cooked this together and we were amazed at how good they tasted and how easy they were to make. Even the sauce was tasty and when I saw the ingredients I was a little nervous but over all I was amazed!! Way to go with this Recipe its a WINNER!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Best Baker Jen January 27, 2008

These were amazing!!! I did have trouble with my coconut cooking a little fast and getting browner than I would have liked, but it didn't effect the taste. I used jumbo prawns and made a meal of them. My family like them so much that I made them again for dinner the very next day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jazmine.smalley August 01, 2007

I made this for lunch with the girls, they all said they taste just like the one's we get at the Elephant Bar. My husband ate our leftover's and asked me to make more. The dipping sauce is also restaurant quality. I will be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gsecrease September 30, 2012

These were fantastic! Try them I know you will like them. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn March 08, 2012

Great recipe! Easy and delicious, I especially loved the sauce, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am November 12, 2010

5 stars SOLELY for the DIPPING SAUCE!!! I had rave reviews from everyone for the sauce, and the shrimp turned out nice as well. SAUCE will be made again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeganAmanda May 09, 2010
Coconut Shrimp