20 Reviews

This was AWESOME!! Loved this special side dish, coconut milky flavor, the toasted coconut made this recipe outstanding. Served this with grilled fresh pineapple and grilled ham steaks. A meal to remember. Thank You!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat June 25, 2008

This is a nice, unique side dish and very easy to prepare. I think next time (there will definitely be a next time!) I may use half coconut milk and half water as the flavor stood out a bit more than I had anticipated, even with light coconut milk. I tossed some golden raisins in at the end for added color and texture. My 2 yr old, in particular, really liked it. I would like to try it with some curried chicken but was needing a vegetarian dinner tonite so paired it with Sue L's "I Can't Wait for Chole" and it worked well. Will be making it again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki March 23, 2004

This was delicious! I accidentally bought sweetened coconut, but decided to use it rather than going back to the store to get the unsweetened. It was still absolutely tasty. Next time I'll make sure to buy the right coconut though. The addition of the cilantro really spiffed this recipe up. I would definitely suggest using it. Thanks for a new keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyberry117 April 10, 2015

I loved the flavor, but like other reviewers, I had problems with the rice getting fully cooked. I did use brown rice, so that may be an issue. The flavor was fantastic, and I love the creaminess. I served it with chicken barbecued with my sweet and spicy pineapple mustard and acorn squash. It was fantastic with the chicken!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 December 28, 2010

This dish is wonderfully delicious! Because I used organic brown jasmine and a rice cooker, I had to nearly double the amount of coconut milk and stir frequently to prevent it from scorching. My vegan son added raisins to his serving. It was so rich and creamy with the subtle taste of coconut. We will definitely make this again, although I would double it! Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyW #2 December 17, 2010

I used coconut cream instead of milk which was probably the wrong thing to do, because it kept evaporating when simmering, causing the rice to stick to the bottom of the pan. In order to prevent it from burning, I added water which resulted in perhaps a slightly gluggy consistency (but only very slight). Other than that, it was quite nice and was well-received by those that I served it to. I served it with Snapper fillet and buttery beans. I'll definitely make it again, but with the addition of palm sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiki1978 November 10, 2009

Very rich and yummy. I think I will use low fat coconut milk next time or 1/2 chix broth. Had to use ginger powder-no fresh available. Really was good though. Loved the cilantro. Served with a newly created Pineapple Chicken that I will work on and post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camaro Chic April 26, 2009

This was great! So easy to make and so delicious. I I'll definately be making this again. Perfect amount of coconut flavor...not to strong and not to mild.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbaal July 14, 2008
Coconut Rice