21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good. I did add more curry powder (maybe almost 2 tsp total), used 1 cup basmati rice, and added a bit of water. No salt or pepper needed. The only reason I didn't eat it all is because I did see the nutrition facts on the side of the coconut milk! A good compliment to my trader joe's jar of curry simmering sauce with white fish and zucchini. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah.haddox June 21, 2010

I was about to post this exact recipe myself; that pretty much says how much I like Coconut Rice. I've served this at several dinner parties, usually to accompany a hot/spicy main dish, and always to much acclaim.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belgophile March 27, 2010

Very hard recipe for me to rate, I thought it was good, DW didn't like it and one of the guests raved about it. I used Texmati rice because it was what I had on hand. The nuttynes of the rice came thru good. I didn't taste much curry powered. Like one of the other reviewers, I would add more curry, I have never cooked with Coconut Milk before. I shook the can viigorously, but when opened it it t had the texture of playdough. When I added it, the bottom of the can had the all liquid in it. I don't think a paint shaker would of combined it, I broke it up and stirred it around the pan until it combined. Don't know if this could of affected the results or not.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH October 11, 2009

I liked this recipe alot, I would recommend adding some water ( you may have to eye-ball this) I also added some more curry to give the rice some more taste; also some ginger and masala. But overall it was a great recipe, will definitely try again !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joribabor July 13, 2009

I love this! Coconut rice is great and this is such an easy recipe. I did add a bit more curry and then some peas and golden raisins. It's great with curries and chilled with apples,cashews,scallions,diced chicken breast,Maj. Grey's chutney and some mayo or sour cream. It's a great stand alone recipe but a wonderful platform recipe as well. 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lockedhalo September 04, 2008

There is a lot of mixed reviews for this but let me set it straight. It shouldn't be a sticky mess if you use coconut milk if you use cream it will come out too sticky. I added a little chicken stock to mine only cause I used more rice than the recipe called for. This is great with chicken curry. Will def be making it again thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma of 4 #795827 April 27, 2008

I liked the flavor, but my fiancee thought it was bland. It ended up undercooked even though I added some water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anacat October 21, 2007

As much as I like cocnut i found this too stodgy and sickly. Personally I would make normal rice adding the onions and curry powder but use water adding some cocnut cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clairedaz7 June 26, 2006

This was good. I started with jasmine rice, skipped the onion, and sauted the rice in butter with curry powder. Since I used 1 1/2 cup of rice, I added 1 cup of chicken broth to the coconut milk. The result was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quixoposto October 17, 2005

Mine didn't turn out sticky but it wasn't cooked all the way. And I left it on for longer than the amount specified. My DH said it was a nice change from the same old rice, but I didn't like it at all. I thought the coconut milk was too overpowering, and I would have used less curry powder as well. Must be an acquired taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama May 17, 2005
Coconut Rice