Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Rice

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2010

      This was really good. I did add more curry powder (maybe almost 2 tsp total), used 1 cup basmati rice, and added a bit of water. No salt or pepper needed. The only reason I didn't eat it all is because I did see the nutrition facts on the side of the coconut milk! A good compliment to my trader joe's jar of curry simmering sauce with white fish and zucchini. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      I was about to post this exact recipe myself; that pretty much says how much I like Coconut Rice. I've served this at several dinner parties, usually to accompany a hot/spicy main dish, and always to much acclaim.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Very hard recipe for me to rate, I thought it was good, DW didn't like it and one of the guests raved about it. I used Texmati rice because it was what I had on hand. The nuttynes of the rice came thru good. I didn't taste much curry powered. Like one of the other reviewers, I would add more curry, I have never cooked with Coconut Milk before. I shook the can viigorously, but when opened it it t had the texture of playdough. When I added it, the bottom of the can had the all liquid in it. I don't think a paint shaker would of combined it, I broke it up and stirred it around the pan until it combined. Don't know if this could of affected the results or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I liked this recipe alot, I would recommend adding some water ( you may have to eye-ball this) I also added some more curry to give the rice some more taste; also some ginger and masala. But overall it was a great recipe, will definitely try again !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I love this! Coconut rice is great and this is such an easy recipe. I did add a bit more curry and then some peas and golden raisins. It's great with curries and chilled with apples,cashews,scallions,diced chicken breast,Maj. Grey's chutney and some mayo or sour cream. It's a great stand alone recipe but a wonderful platform recipe as well. 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      There is a lot of mixed reviews for this but let me set it straight. It shouldn't be a sticky mess if you use coconut milk if you use cream it will come out too sticky. I added a little chicken stock to mine only cause I used more rice than the recipe called for. This is great with chicken curry. Will def be making it again thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I liked the flavor, but my fiancee thought it was bland. It ended up undercooked even though I added some water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      As much as I like cocnut i found this too stodgy and sickly. Personally I would make normal rice adding the onions and curry powder but use water adding some cocnut cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      This was good. I started with jasmine rice, skipped the onion, and sauted the rice in butter with curry powder. Since I used 1 1/2 cup of rice, I added 1 cup of chicken broth to the coconut milk. The result was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Mine didn't turn out sticky but it wasn't cooked all the way. And I left it on for longer than the amount specified. My DH said it was a nice change from the same old rice, but I didn't like it at all. I thought the coconut milk was too overpowering, and I would have used less curry powder as well. Must be an acquired taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      Like another reviewer, mine came out as a sticky ball. I guess jasmine rice can't be used in place of long grain. It tasted pretty good regardless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      The onions and butter smelled really good as they sizzled in the pan. How could I got wrong with curry; especially, the small amount the recipe called for? I got excited as I added the rice and hoped for the best when I stirred in the coconut milk. The final results were a sticky mess that tasted awful. I am positive this recipe can be modified to suit any individual's taste. However, the small part of Jamaican ancestry I posess says, tell everyone to try Jamaican Rice and Peas instead of this recipe-PLEASE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      I have one word to say "YUM!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      Reminded me of the flavor of rice pudding, a bit sweet and a great foil for a spicy entree with a lot of heat. I also used olive oil and a mix of lite coconut milk and half water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      This recipe was easy and delicious!!! I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      Very good! One thing i might change is use 1/2 can of coconut milk and 1/2 can of water. I found it was a little rich because of the coconut oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      My family really enjoyed this unique rice, it was different than normal rice, but very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2002

      recipe reminds me of jamaican dish for red beans and rice using powered coconut milk which you can't find here in the states. very good thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      I put everything into my rice cooker and let it go. Our came a terrific rice side dish!! The coconut milk really made this. It was good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2001

      My husband and I really enjoyed this rice. It is easy to prepare and I will make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.0
     
    Calories from Fat 225
    61%
    Total Fat 25.1 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 21.3 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 36.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites