14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this to go with Sticky Chicken Drumsticks made with hot chili sauce, and this was the perfect rice to contrast with the heat from the chicken. I used leftover rice, and the directions for using leftover rice worked out perfectly. Thanks for sharing! Made for Newest Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 27, 2012

Coconut rice is such a nice foil for spicy dishes, like the spicy scallops I prepared. I modified quantities on the fly to fit my 3-cup rice cooker. One thing I did do in addition was to take the lonely lemongrass stalk languishing in the veggie bin, peel it, smash it, cut into a few large chunks and throw it in with the rice. The lemongrass fragrance really enhanced the rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte March 16, 2012

I was worried that this rice might be too creamy and sticky, not so at all........ The rice was really nice.
The rice turned out really well, a great texture with just a subtle flavor of coconut. The coconut milk did not overpower the rice at all.
Served with a stir fry chicken this was just the thing. We really liked the rice made like this.
Thanks awalde for another great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme January 13, 2012

We really liked this rice. I was afraid that the flavour of coconut might be overwhelming, but it's really not. I also topped it with toasted coconut and that added a nice touch. We had this with awalde's Original Indian Naan Bread, roast chicken and veggies. Yum! Made for PRMR recipe tag game. Thanks awalde! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif November 22, 2011

Wonderful! Wonderful! I liked the idea of including toasted coconut & did just that for an absolutely great flavor combo, especially since I used brown rice rather than the white! Thanks for a great keeper recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 09, 2011

Good texture and a light coconut flavor. You can't tell from my picture but I used brown rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 25, 2011

This rice came out very nice and fluffy. The coconut flavor was perfect, not too strong, not too subtle. I made it from scratch, followed the recipe, added a little extra water during cooking, and it came perfectly. Made for ZWT 7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean June 25, 2011

Yummy, and the fact that it really simple doesn't hurt any. It was great with tonights chicken. Dh and I both loved it. Made for ZWT7, Witchin Kitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 24, 2011

Very easy and pretty darn tasty. The leftovers were even better! Thanks for sharing, awalde!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs June 24, 2011

I played a little fast and loose with this but this was inspiring to know I could use already cooked rice to make coconut rice. I used Trader Joe's Frozen Brown rice - it's already cooked and unsweetened coconut cream as my coconut milk that was leftover tasted tinny. I stirred them together and microwaved for about 8 minutes total - this was the perfect side dish for the Chicken With Citrus Sauce I served it with and made great lunch leftovers. thanks for sharing awalde! Made for ZWT 7 for the Food.commandos

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet June 23, 2011
Coconut Rice