Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Red Lentils With Spinach, Cashews & Lime (Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Red Lentils With Spinach, Cashews & Lime (Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 01, 2010

      Oh, soooo good! I agree with the80srule that it was really easy to make too. I didn't even bother with the different bowls that she suggested; I just mixed everything in the pot. I love the iron powerhouse combo of lentils and spinach! I used green lentils, since that was what I had on hand (and cooked them a little longer), but I know that this dish would be even better with red lentils. Also, I used mustard powder instead of seeds and didn't happen to have any cilantro on hand. Like other reviewers, I used extra spinach: 3 cups total. I served it with basmati brown rice. The combination of sweet cashews and coconut, spicy curry, and sour lime was truly tantalizing. I second the suggestion of serving it with lime wedges; a little fresh lime juice squeezed on top was just the thing. I already can't wait to make this again with red lentils. Made for Veg*an Swap, May 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      After making this recipe for the first time, I made it again less than a week later. It's delicious, easy, quick, and hearty - and I'm not a big fan of lentils! I used loads more spinach than the recipe called for - at least 5 cups - and served it in bowls garnished with additional cashews and cilantro (will try serving it over rice next time, for variety). This will become a regular on the family menu during spinach season, to be sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was delicious, and tasted even better the next day! I could really taste the mustard flavor from the seeds when I first tried this, but when I had the leftovers the next day, the flavors had migled perfectly. Great, quick, simple recipe. I probably added almost a cup of cashews, cuz I love 'em! I also used baby spinach leaves, and I'd say I threw in 2 BIG handfuls of those as well. I served it over jasmine rice. I didn't have cilantro, but next time will definitely add that as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Oh Magpie this dish is just simply fabulous! I had a lot of fun making it too, it appears labor intensive at first but it's really not. The main thing is just making sure you have enough bowls handy! I used a large one and two medium ones to separate the ingredients-- need a medium bowl for the red lentils and spices, another medium one for the spinach and cashews, and a large one handy to whisk the coconut milk, salt, lime juice, and water together. I used 1 teaspoon of RealLime, and some nice sea salt. 1/2 cup of pre-chopped onion was just dandy and since I didn't have fresh cilantro today I put a few shakes of dried cilantro in with the red lentil bowl, about a little less than a teaspoon. I always have fresh spinach in my house, since I love it I probably used closer to 2 cups, and some wonderful plump raw cashews. The different aromas together while it was on the stove were just mouthwatering! A very warming dish, the spiciness kicks in about a minute after you take a bite. Very tasty with naan dippers! One of the best curries I've had that I didn't get at the my favorite Indian restaurant! With some cubed potatoes and marinated tofu, this would also make a nice dosa filling. Made for our VIP player in Veggie Swap 22.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      Very yummy! An easy, hearty meal for a wintry night. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil, extra spinach as several recommended, and served with brown rice. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      A really great recipe that I will absolutely use again. I added pineapple and a red pepper to make it feel super summery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Excellent. 1 3/4 cup of water is about the amount of the coconut milk can, so save on dirtying measuring cups. Add the zest of the lime as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      Excellent Indian dish. Loved it both hot and cold(next day for lunch). Served it with naan bread and a Tandoori shrimp which I will post later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      We really liked this. Easy, healthy and yummy...that's 5 stars for me! Thanks magpie diner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

    • on December 15, 2012

      We made this last night, what a wonderful dish thank you so much for sharing. Very simple and such wonderful flavours...

      Thank you.

      Nulife Team ( www.nulife-group.com )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      This was a delicious and mild curry. I've been on a red lentil kick lately and this definitely satisfied my craving. I did feel like it needed a punch at the end so I added a heaping spoon of garlic, but then again, I do that to pretty much every dish I make. I also used a pinch of dried mustard powder in place of the mustard seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2012

      An excellent recipe!!! I also used much more spinach, a bag of baby spinach leaves (I think the bag is about 200gr), and I was generous with the cilantro because we like it. I used a Roasted Garam Masala which is what I generally have on hand. I could have made it hotter, it was quite mild, but then you might lose the sweetness of the cashews. We do love dahl and this is a real make-again, DH is having the leftovers for lunch, LUCKY him!!!! I served this on steamed white rice, we really enjoyed this excellent dish. This recipe was made for ZWT 8, thank you, magpie diner :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      I made this lovely lentil recipe for my lunch today. I enjoyed it very much. I didn't change a thing in the recipe (used hot curry powder and the cilantro option). I thought the recipe was very easy to make. I am looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

    • on January 30, 2012

      Magpie, I have forgotten how good Indian food is! I make it so rarely now.
      That will change thanks in large part with recipes like this. I made a 'rice bowl' with this recipe.
      First I layered wide soup bowls with raw baby spinach leaves, followed by a large spoonful of
      hot white basmati rice, the dal, then minced fresh cilantro, the cashews, lime zest and lime wedges. The only big difference was I didn't stir the spinach, cilantro or cashews into the dal rather as I described. I would suggest cooking the dal about 20 minutes but not too dry-a little soupy still. The dal mixture will firm up on its own. Very tasty! Easy, nutritious and inexpensive. Made for Veg Tag/January.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Very mild dhal. Easy to prepare. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Excellent curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      This was truly fantastic! I loved it the night we made it, and like you mentioned it got even better the next day. The flavors were just right for us, though I did cut back on the curry a touch for the benefit of the kiddos. I also used way more spinach--basically all they gave me in my CSA box LOL. I added a fair amount of salt as well. I made cauliflower on the side and I'm thinking it might be lovely to add some veggies into the curry itself--maybe green beans as well? At any rate, this was a good amount for our family of four when served over brown rice. It is VERY kid friendly--my nine month old has eaten several servings for subsequent meals! Thanks, magpie! Made for ZWT 7 for the Vivacious Violets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      This is wonderful and simple to make! It was very filling and full of flavor. My family enjoyed it a lot. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7 for the Vivacious Violets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Red Lentils With Spinach, Cashews & Lime (Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.6
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    38%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 504.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 19.4 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    light coconut milk

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes