11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ok, I think we used the wrong kind of coconut because ours were a bit sweeter than I would have liked, but serving it with a couple of different hot sauces helped balance it out. Would definately make again as a main course too.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore December 26, 2001

These were good - I liked them better with the jalepeno jelly than the coctail sauce.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeeAnn December 19, 2001

Very good and easy to prepare.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Torrellas Edgar December 07, 2001

Today at work we had a client who wanted coconut prawns this afternoon, so I had to scramble to find a recipe. We had all morning to experiment, so I started with this one. I tried it with both unsweetened coconut (because someone commented that the prawns were too sweet) and sweetened coconut. The result was the unsweetened version was way too bland and the ones with sweetened coconut were NOT too sweet. They were just right. The recipe is very easy to follow, quick to prepare and fairly fooproof. I found that I needed a bit more flour than called for. I used a saute pan with about 1/2 inch of oil so the prawns had to be turned once. They cooked in aout 1/2 the time suggested, but that may be a function of higher heat. The finished product was fine, although a bit bland for my taste. We served these with a spicy pineapple salsa. Needless to say I did not have to search further.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MEAN CHEF July 16, 2003

Excellent recipe and use unsweetened coconut rather than the sweetened type. I use bottled Thai Peanut Sauce as a yummy dip and serve it all up with white Basmati rice. Yum indeed! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodexpert2 April 05, 2012

One word: YUMMMMMMMM!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelia1865 July 01, 2010

I had about 6 people over for dinner and decided at the last minute (my meal was late cooking) to make some of these little "darlings". Well it was a good thing I only made about 3 each because they would have ate these all night. A colossal hit at my house and they are all asking when I will make again. Simple, and easy. Sweet coconut is great, give them some spicy chili sauce and they disappear! Thanks DiB's. AM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelmingo November 24, 2008

I've never made better shrimp...these were absolutely perfect and tasted better than Outback's according to my husband. The sauce recommendation from one of the reviewers with honey mustard, orange marmalade & horseradish was awesome as well. Will make all the time now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotWifey February 23, 2005
Coconut Prawns