20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best coconut pound cake recipe I've made thus far! The coconut extract is just what the recipe needs to give it the coconut flavor; not just the coconut texture with a bit of flavor. I absolutely loved the idea of the syrup on the cake rather than a glaze. At first I thought it would make the cake very sweet but the syrup on the cake is actually less sweet than a glaze. The syrup adds to the moistness of the cake and provides a different twist from a traditional glaze. I used butter rather than oleo just because I prefer to bake with butter and did not use the rum extract because I didn't have any on hand(also not a big rum fan so I'm not sure if I'd like it). The one thing I needed was a pastry brush to brush on the glaze. It was a little difficult trying to drizzle it to get the same effect as a brush. The recipe doesn't call for it but, I'm probably going to keep the cake in the refrigerator as the moistness may cause the cake to mold quickly. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn March 09, 2002

Delicious!!! I used real butter (unsalted) and this cake came out moist, buttery, and had just the right amount of coconut flavoring! The cake was a big hit with my family, so I will be making it again soon! Thanks for great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. February 03, 2003

This cake was absolutely wonderful. I made it for a bake sale for Relay for Life. I got busy and forgot to put the syrup on it but it was still wonderful. Everyone loved it. This is one I will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Medic_306 April 12, 2004

I have made this cake twice now and both times it was eaten very quickly, and everyone wanted to know if I had anymore! Husband said this was the best cake I had ever made. Will diffently make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doris in Va. February 06, 2004

This is the best cake I've ever made!!!!! Most and full of flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 09, 2015

This is definately my fave coconut pound cake! I have made it 3 times so far and it recieved rave reviews every time. I do caution that this is too much batter for my standard bundt pan but works great in a larger tube pan. Since I like the shape of the bundt then I generally pour out enough batter for 5 cupcakes and then the rest goes in the bundt. Gotta love having some pound cupcakes. :) Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonchild64 May 16, 2009

This cake was pretty darn awesome. I too think that half of the syrup would be plenty next time. Also, the stated time was a little too long, the cake started to get too dark. I'll only be leaving it an hour next time. But other than that, it was GREAT and I got tons of compliments. Thanks for the recipe Mark. I'll definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NellieGirl21550 April 05, 2009

Wow,what a great coconut cake recipe!I used vanilla extract instead of rum.This cake has great flavour.The syrup makes a nice crispy edge to the cake all around.Half the syrup would definately be plenty,as a few reviewers have already said.I let it bake for about 1 hour 10 minutes as the cake was getting pretty dark by then. A great tasting cake recipe!Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny April 04, 2009

I am going to rate this a 5 for taste alone. However, the baker (me) gets a 1 for stupidity and a 4 for ingenuity. I followed the directions for this cake to a "T" until I got to the part of cooling it for 15 minutes. I left it longer, probably about 40 minutes, and the sugar stuck to the pan and, hence, the cake came out in chunks. It was stuck good! After tasting the cake, I knew I could not throw it out, so here the ingenuous part, I now have a Tropical Fruit Trifle and it is delicious! I am going to post the recipe separately. I will make this cake again (and follow the directions completely). A great cake, Mark H., deserving of a better cook. Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl March 01, 2009
Coconut Pound Cake