Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2002

      This is the best coconut pound cake recipe I've made thus far! The coconut extract is just what the recipe needs to give it the coconut flavor; not just the coconut texture with a bit of flavor. I absolutely loved the idea of the syrup on the cake rather than a glaze. At first I thought it would make the cake very sweet but the syrup on the cake is actually less sweet than a glaze. The syrup adds to the moistness of the cake and provides a different twist from a traditional glaze. I used butter rather than oleo just because I prefer to bake with butter and did not use the rum extract because I didn't have any on hand(also not a big rum fan so I'm not sure if I'd like it). The one thing I needed was a pastry brush to brush on the glaze. It was a little difficult trying to drizzle it to get the same effect as a brush. The recipe doesn't call for it but, I'm probably going to keep the cake in the refrigerator as the moistness may cause the cake to mold quickly. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

    • on February 03, 2003

      Delicious!!! I used real butter (unsalted) and this cake came out moist, buttery, and had just the right amount of coconut flavoring! The cake was a big hit with my family, so I will be making it again soon! Thanks for great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      This cake was absolutely wonderful. I made it for a bake sale for Relay for Life. I got busy and forgot to put the syrup on it but it was still wonderful. Everyone loved it. This is one I will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      I have made this cake twice now and both times it was eaten very quickly, and everyone wanted to know if I had anymore! Husband said this was the best cake I had ever made. Will diffently make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      This is definately my fave coconut pound cake! I have made it 3 times so far and it recieved rave reviews every time. I do caution that this is too much batter for my standard bundt pan but works great in a larger tube pan. Since I like the shape of the bundt then I generally pour out enough batter for 5 cupcakes and then the rest goes in the bundt. Gotta love having some pound cupcakes. :) Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This cake was pretty darn awesome. I too think that half of the syrup would be plenty next time. Also, the stated time was a little too long, the cake started to get too dark. I'll only be leaving it an hour next time. But other than that, it was GREAT and I got tons of compliments. Thanks for the recipe Mark. I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Wow,what a great coconut cake recipe!I used vanilla extract instead of rum.This cake has great flavour.The syrup makes a nice crispy edge to the cake all around.Half the syrup would definately be plenty,as a few reviewers have already said.I let it bake for about 1 hour 10 minutes as the cake was getting pretty dark by then. A great tasting cake recipe!Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I am going to rate this a 5 for taste alone. However, the baker (me) gets a 1 for stupidity and a 4 for ingenuity. I followed the directions for this cake to a "T" until I got to the part of cooling it for 15 minutes. I left it longer, probably about 40 minutes, and the sugar stuck to the pan and, hence, the cake came out in chunks. It was stuck good! After tasting the cake, I knew I could not throw it out, so here the ingenuous part, I now have a Tropical Fruit Trifle and it is delicious! I am going to post the recipe separately. I will make this cake again (and follow the directions completely). A great cake, Mark H., deserving of a better cook. Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Excelent cake. I loved it!! Kirt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Best Coconut Pound Cake! This cake get better with age. The only thing different I do with this cake is pour the syrup over the warm cake in the pan, cool then remove from pan. eklare

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Love, love, love! This is the best pound cake, very moist with the best crust on top. I was nervous with how full it was in the pan. I have made it exactly, and also have modified yogurt for sour cream, and vanilla for rum. It always turns out great. I do have to make sure my oven temp is exactly 350, but that is my issue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Very moist, delicious cake. I substituted vanilla for the rum extract in the cake and used coconut extract instead of almond in the syrup. This recipe makes a lot of batter. My bundt pan was way more than 3/4 full and the cake baked up to almost overflowing. It also took 1 1/2 to bake. All in all, a wonderful recipe that I will definatly use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      It was a beautiful cake. I did not have rum extract but I used about a tbsp of real rum. I didn't do the glaze but it was so moist and just the right flavour. This is my new favourite coconut cake recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Wonderful pound cake! I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup coconut milk; I used vanilla extract instead of rum extract; I only had 1/2 cup coconut, and went with that; and I used real butter. Easy to throw together and gives wonderful results. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      This is an excellent pound cake. I had too much batter for my bundt pan so I put the extra into a small star shaped pan. I used butter and otherwise followed the recipe exactly and was rewarded with a moist and delicious cake I know I will make again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      Yum...coconut, one of my favorite things. I used unsalted butter, and halved the glaze per another reviewers comments. This is the best coconut cake ever... soft, moist and downright delicious! I've saved the recipe to my favorites. Thanks Mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2005

      Excellent. The glaze was terrific... I will probably use variations on other pound cakes. The cake had a wonderful, soft, really homemade taste. The only thing I will do differently is to halve the glaze recipe; I had way more than I used. Fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      This recipe is very similar to my grandmother's neighbor's recipe. I make this every Christmas. Miss Mildred never put flaked coconut in it (ok by me...I don't like the texture of coconut) and she added 1 tsp of butter flavoring and 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wants to wow'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 343.3
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    41%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 87.7 mg
    29%
    Sodium 126.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 34.8 g
    139%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites