10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I changed it up a bit by using a devil's food cake mix and toasted the coconut flakes for the top; kept everything else the same. Very easy and great if you need a real sweet fix!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn in MA May 07, 2013

Be careful -- this cake is SUPER SWEET. Even without the topping, it was too much sugar overload for me. I'm giving it a 4-star rating though because it is good and very moist, but just way too sweet for my taste. If I make it again, I will use coconut milk in place of the cream of coconut. Maybe that will cut down a little on the sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janny7 June 28, 2010

This cake is fantastic. The flavor is wonderful and it is very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy 7 June 08, 2009

What a rich, moist, easy coconut-y dessert! I used a white Duncan Hines cake mix and subbed coconut extract for the almond. Also added a drop or two of coconut extract to the milk/creme of coconut mixture. ALSO added a drop of coconut and vanilla to the cool whip. Omitted the actual coconut because I had none at the house at the time. Divine!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura123 May 05, 2009

Thank you, thank you, for posting this. I had it in the past and lost it, and the dear great-aunt I got it from is now suffering from alzheimers and I couldn't ask her for it again. It is such a yummy cake, and being in the fridge is a great summer treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
txn_mommy June 03, 2008

I love this recipe. The one suggestion I have is to mix half of the can of cream of coconut into the whipped topping. It makes the frosting have the most wonderful coconut flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MMMTMommy February 06, 2008

This is one of my favorite cakes because it's so great and easy to make. I dont like the texture of coconut flakes so I chose to not add those to the top and it was amazing. Everyone loved it and I had none left after dinner because friends wanted pieces to go!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chic Lil Chef January 29, 2008

This is amazing. I couldn't find cream of coconut so I used coconut milk. Still perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmarques77 January 08, 2008

I made this cake for my crew of 9 men and it didn't last 24 hours. This thing is SO good, it is easy, pretty and impressive! YUM! YUM! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ex Tow Boat Cook November 08, 2007

Made this cake....yum, yum, yum!! The only thing I did different is add coconut rum after the cream and milk (I did let it cool first before pouring the rum). It was so good and light!! Will make this again...!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babygirl65 January 27, 2006
Coconut Poke Cake