16 Reviews

This is amazing! Came out perfect!!!<br/>For people wondering about why your eggs are cooking, dont forget to separate the egg yolks for the eggs!!!! You only use the yolks!!!<br/><br/>I changed this a little bit and Im in heaven. I too used sweetended condensed milk instead of evaporated, and i used half brown sugar and half granulated. it cooked up in about 5 mins with my gas stove. I added in pecans and coconut and its to die for!! VERY EASY TO MAKE!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scorpio21 May 10, 2013

Made this for my moms german chocolate cake, and the icing turned out perfect, no problems! She loved it! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlainaF December 06, 2011

*RECEIVED RAVE REVIEWS* I made German Chocolate Cupcakes for my nephew's open house. I came across this recipe in my search for a filling. The only thing I did differently was that I put 1/2 of the Coconut & Pecans into a food processor and pulsed several times. I thought this would make it easier to go through the tip for filling. I think it did somehow make the flavor even better though. :-) Friends and family asked if I had any spare. LOL. This will be a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rd.nckgirl June 07, 2015

I should have read the reviews first. The taste is great but it does need to be thickened more. Next time, I think I would use it in between the layers as I did this time and put a cream cheese frosting on the outside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl October 03, 2010

This frosting is the best ever. I didn't find it needed anything to thicken it, just patience for it to set up. It is worth the wait and then some. I think I just might be dreaming about this!! And, it is a very good thing I sent the cake home with my family or I would be into it right now. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV June 01, 2010

YUMMY! I used this to make German Chocolate Brownies and it was fabulous. I will also enjoy using this on cupcakes and layer cake. I had no problems at all and the flavor is fantastic. Thanks for sharing. ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau December 30, 2008

I read all the other reviews and made two changes recommended by others. I added 1 teaspoon of cornstarch to the mixture before it was cooked. I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar. The end result was wonderful. BTW, folks remember her instructions say to cool before spreading. This mixture thickens more as it cools. I found that with the addition of the cornstarch it was the right amount of thickness, yet not to thick. (I believe it is the egg yolks which do the thickening, I wonder if extra large eggs would work to make it a little thicker as well.) I also stirred it for the entire 12 minutes which seemed to help. I set the timer and read a novel while stirring so I didn't think about how long it took. Thanks Rita...German Chocolate Cake and this style frosting is my very favorite. I made it last night for my birthday. I know...kind of awful to have to make your own cake...but if I didn't then I wouldn't have had the pleasure of eating it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ October 22, 2008

I loved the recipe the only thing I did different was to add some gelatin to make sure it thickened and I used half granulated sugar and half brown sugar I think it gives it a more caramely taste, and it turned out beautiful. I own a specialty cake shop and was making it for a customer and they couldn't stop raving about it. It is very much a keeper:) Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evone June 07, 2008

Yumm! I made this for my picky daughter's b-day cake, she doesn't like frosting but she loves this. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lil' Momma Jenn September 15, 2007

I'm not sure if it was something I did, but the icing was rather runny. It tasted glorious, however, and I will definitely try this again. Maybe just cook it for longer? It was a golden brown but still pretty runny. My fiance and I made it for his father for father's day and both his parents loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schnookie Wookums June 17, 2007
Coconut Pecan Frosting