Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Orange Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Orange Squares

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2002

      This is great, but I add a small can of mandarin oranges.Drain them and add them to the top. Wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Very tasty but next time I will either double the recipe and use an 8 inch pan or use a 4 inch pan because the squares were too thin, great flavor though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      We love Orange and Coconut so I knew this would be a winner. I like a thicker bar so I did ingridents x4 on this. I don't have alot of patience to measure for baking so I eyeballed it. I used the juice and zest of one orange,2 eggs, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 stick of butter, flour x 3, bp x 4 and a whole bag of coconut. The result was delicous. DH and DS enjoyed as well as me. Going into my favorite zaar recipes. Sorry for the long review but I wanted you to know how good it was multiplying the recipe. Thanks :) Made for ZWT 5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      No need to alter the recipe. These squares taste truly wonderful but just a bit on the dry side. To get it a little moister, simply cover the pan with foil as soon as it comes out of the oven while cooling. Another tip...if you are using sweetened coconut flakes, cut the sugar back in half.

      Great recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      This is a wonderful chewy cake like bar...love the coconut and orange together. I used sweetened flaked coconut because that is what I had o hand but I forgot to cut the sugar back. I think that made the recipe a tad too sweet. When making again (and yes, I will make this again) I will cut the sugar back quite a bit if the coconut is sweetened. Thanks Dreamgoddess for such a tasty recipe. Made for the 29th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Yummy orange and coconut taste for DD, DH and I. However I found them hard on the sides of the pan and that is why I took off a star. I'm not sure why this happened, it may be because of my substitutions or like another reviewer stated they were too thin. I used canola oil instead of butter as we are dairy free, white sugar for the sugar, egg replacer and orange juice for the liquid in the egg as well as to replace the milk like a couple other reviewers did as well. I used desiccated (smaller than shredded) coconut but believe flaked would be better in this. I used Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Mix #1 for the flour and gluten free baking powder and sea salt for the salt. I forgot to grease my glass baking dish so it stuck like crazy but even though it broke into millions of pieces because of that, it was very tasty and I would make this again though next time I would like to try with flaked coconut and raw cane sugar. Photo posted. Made for ZWT5 for Cooks With Dirty Faces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      mine totally dont look like the photo but still were great! i used o.j instead of milk. never had any rinds. very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Nice recipe! Chewy and like an orange macaroon. Originally I had my doubts- how can such a simple recipe be any good? But it is! I thought about putting an icing on it but it doesn't need one (sweet enough). Maybe cream cheese? I used orange juice instead of milk but i don't think I needed to, it's pretty orangey (but I have great tangy oranges). Hubby liked it so much he cut HUGE pieces (I also doubled the recipe). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Orange Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (501 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 133.4
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    45%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 19.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 116.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes