24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful cookie and believe me they didn't last long. Very easy to make and delicious to eat. Thanks for a great recipe, Carrie Ann. I'm so glad I found this. :-)rn

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot October 06, 2002

Considering all of my changes and lightened ingredients, I thought these were pretty good. I was hoping for a more chewy oatmeal cookie, but this wasn't what I got. Overall, the flavor was good, and my alterations made them less guilty. My attempt resulted in a somewhat dry but nutty flavored cookie with little bursts of fruit. I tried to make them less carb'y by making the following changes: I used 1/2 cup stevia and 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup unbleached flour and 1/2 cup coconut flour (this is probably why mine came out kind of dry but also why I probably didn't encounter the spreading issue as mentioned by other reviewers), 1/2 cup unsalted butter and 1/4 cup natural peanut butter (which may have also contributed to the dryness), 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup reduced sugar Craisins (which I had previously soaked in water in hopes of removing any other sugars), and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, and <1/4 teaspoon salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny January 27, 2015

Holey moley this was amazing! I experimented quite liberally with the formula, and feel free to discard my faulty methodology. For starters I soaked 1 cup raisins + 1/2 cup cranberries in mango juice + maple syrup, didn't like it, then I drained off the juice and soaked them in vanilla soy milk instead. My brown sugar was a write-off, so I used 1 cup white sugar + 1.5 tbsp molasses + 1/4 cup honey plus the butter. Added the recommended amounts of dry ingredients, yet when I mixed in the somewhat drained raisin/cranberry mixture it became too runny. Added another 1/2 cup of flour, and the cookies all melted together yet they tasted AMAZING! Added more flour and oats to subsequent batches, and they were firmer and the taste was still absolutely incredible. I can't believe I baked something so delicious. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
figsandcocoa January 31, 2014

these are one of the best cookies i've ever made. i'm going to have to double the recipe the next time i make them which can't be soon enough! talk about gone in a heartbeat- i had to hide some for myself. hats off to you Carrie Ann. Sharona

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharonared February 13, 2013

Disappointed in these. All ran together and not very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barb572000 October 04, 2012

Excellent recipe! I just finished making these to send off with my daughter and wish I had made more and I will! I made it exactly as the recipe said to and they turned out perfect! The coconut is a fabulous addition. They did spread some, but nothing major. It's just the type of cookie they are. If they spread too much try adding an additional 1/4 cup flour. Cookies also bake better on parchment paper. I used a medium cookie scoop and got 30 cookies--of course that's not counting the balls of cookie dough we had to eat. This is a keeper! Thank you for such a fabulous recipe! %u2665

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazelruthe September 12, 2011

I second all the positive comments. They do spread, but after cooling turn into deliciously thin, crisp, yet somehow chewy treats. Better yet, here's a cookie that requires no special ingredients and are sure to please family and friends. Thanks for making my husband a happy man, Carrie Ann.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers July 12, 2011

These were kind of a cookie-baking disaster. I just didn't think they would spread that much. I got about 24 cookies out of this recipe but I didn't see that this recipe was for 36 cookies. I omitted 1/2 c of white sugar because my coconut I used was sweetened. I also added a tsp of vanilla, but other than that I used the recipe as written. These cookies really did spread out even though I gave them about an inch of space between each cookie. The end product was one giant fused together cookie. The cookies had a great chewy texture. They did end up being too sweet for me though. I couldn't really taste the coconut either but it added a nice chew along with the oatmeal. I would bake these again with some adaptation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
embuggy February 08, 2010

This is a great cookie, although it did spread a lot. I'll definitely make it again, but I'll probably only use 1 cup of raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah O. February 07, 2010

Just about to make these for the 2nd time this week - very popular! We skipped the raisins and I let my daughter press 2 or 3 m&m candies on top of each one before they go in the oven. Fun and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya Pants December 03, 2009
Coconut Oatmeal Raisin Cookies