102 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this using 1/2 cup peanut butter instead of the shortening, increasing the butter to 2/3 cup, and adding 1/2 cup chopped nuts with the chocolate chips. Awesome!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HomeFryMama March 07, 2010

At 10 minutes in my oven these were lightly golden and a soft cookie after cooled. I baked the rest of them until they were completly golden brown (maybe 13-15 minutes) and the result was good crunchy cookie with a great toasted flavor. I have a newborn and 2-1/2 year old so I took most of the dough, shaped into a couple logs, wrapped in plastic wrap and refrigerated until I could get to them. They sliced and baked up nice. I will make these again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Huntergirl* March 01, 2010

These are delicious! I had some coconut to use up, and I came across this recipe in my to-make recipes. I should've known it was a Barb Gertz recipe. :) I made these exactly as stated, using the brown sugar, and 1/4 c. splenda for part of the white sugar. I also added 1 cup of mini baking M&Ms to them, which added some cute colors, and oh my gosh, more sweetness! I think next time I make these, I'll reduce the white sugar by 1/2 cup. The baking time was perfect for me at 10 minutes on the top third of my conventional oven. I used a cookie scoop and didn't flatten them before baking, and in the oven they flattened (but not too-crisp-flat - just normal cookie-flat). I think these would also be great by adding dried cranberries or dried cherries instead of chocolate. Thanks so much for posting another keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 February 26, 2011

Great recipe and good cookie texture, next time I'm using the molasses instead of the cup of brown sugar. As made this is a horrendously sweet recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
booklost December 19, 2010

Followed the recipe exactly, used brown sugar and large bar pan to bake. Very moist cookie. I will definitely make again but will modify using peanut butter, walnuts and choc chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina R. July 14, 2014

These were awesome! My kids inhaled it within 2 days. I used 1/2 cup real butter and replaced shortening with 1/4 cup coconut oil and 1/4 cup peanut butter. I found the cookies a bit sweet (not a problem for the kids) and will reduce the sugar slightly next time. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
koeksister March 21, 2014

put down the bong it takes more than 10 minutes to cook those

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joe March 02, 2014

These are amazing! So tasty. Perfectly crispy outside and soft and chewy inside. I used all butter (no shortening).<br/><br/>I doubled the recipe, made rough dough balls and froze them for quick treats. They froze beautifully and baked up perfectly (just add one or two extra minutes). Everyone loves these. I'd give them 10 stars if I could.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny May 27, 2013

Hands down, these are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made! The coconut is a great addition! Butter (peanut butter) cookies used to be my 3 year-old grandson's favorite, but after making these cookies, he now says "oatmeal". Do not overbake as you want them to be a bit chewy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CreanneJ November 26, 2012

OMG, exactly what I was looking for. Used unsweetened coconut flakes, added chopped dried pineapple bits, crystalized ginger and some chopped dried cranberries. 10 mins in oven gave me slightly golden, perfectly chewy cookies. Thanks Barbe, a home run! (Would love to figure out how to translate this into a cupcake. Any thoughts?)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buddysmom19 August 04, 2012
Coconut Oatmeal Cookies