Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Oatmeal Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Oatmeal Cookies

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2010

      I made this using 1/2 cup peanut butter instead of the shortening, increasing the butter to 2/3 cup, and adding 1/2 cup chopped nuts with the chocolate chips. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      At 10 minutes in my oven these were lightly golden and a soft cookie after cooled. I baked the rest of them until they were completly golden brown (maybe 13-15 minutes) and the result was good crunchy cookie with a great toasted flavor. I have a newborn and 2-1/2 year old so I took most of the dough, shaped into a couple logs, wrapped in plastic wrap and refrigerated until I could get to them. They sliced and baked up nice. I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      These are delicious! I had some coconut to use up, and I came across this recipe in my to-make recipes. I should've known it was a Barb Gertz recipe. :) I made these exactly as stated, using the brown sugar, and 1/4 c. splenda for part of the white sugar. I also added 1 cup of mini baking M&Ms to them, which added some cute colors, and oh my gosh, more sweetness! I think next time I make these, I'll reduce the white sugar by 1/2 cup. The baking time was perfect for me at 10 minutes on the top third of my conventional oven. I used a cookie scoop and didn't flatten them before baking, and in the oven they flattened (but not too-crisp-flat - just normal cookie-flat). I think these would also be great by adding dried cranberries or dried cherries instead of chocolate. Thanks so much for posting another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Great recipe and good cookie texture, next time I'm using the molasses instead of the cup of brown sugar. As made this is a horrendously sweet recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      Followed the recipe exactly, used brown sugar and large bar pan to bake. Very moist cookie. I will definitely make again but will modify using peanut butter, walnuts and choc chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      These were awesome! My kids inhaled it within 2 days. I used 1/2 cup real butter and replaced shortening with 1/4 cup coconut oil and 1/4 cup peanut butter. I found the cookies a bit sweet (not a problem for the kids) and will reduce the sugar slightly next time. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      put down the bong it takes more than 10 minutes to cook those

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      These are amazing! So tasty. Perfectly crispy outside and soft and chewy inside. I used all butter (no shortening).<br/><br/>I doubled the recipe, made rough dough balls and froze them for quick treats. They froze beautifully and baked up perfectly (just add one or two extra minutes). Everyone loves these. I'd give them 10 stars if I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Hands down, these are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made! The coconut is a great addition! Butter (peanut butter) cookies used to be my 3 year-old grandson's favorite, but after making these cookies, he now says "oatmeal". Do not overbake as you want them to be a bit chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      OMG, exactly what I was looking for. Used unsweetened coconut flakes, added chopped dried pineapple bits, crystalized ginger and some chopped dried cranberries. 10 mins in oven gave me slightly golden, perfectly chewy cookies. Thanks Barbe, a home run! (Would love to figure out how to translate this into a cupcake. Any thoughts?)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      These are great, I used quick oats and a bit more of them and a bit more of flour because the first batch was spreading too much. I made them yesterday, they're soooooooooo good with a glass of milk in the afternoon. Pure pleasure! Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      Made these today to take in to my husband's office. They were very tasty! A soft and chewy cookie. I made a half recipe and used mini m&m's for some fun colour. I made the cookies small (about 2" across when baked) and I got 2 and a half dozen from the half batch. I baked them for 9 minutes and they were a deep golden colour. I also replaced shortening with applesauce (but left butter as is). They were enjoyed by all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      I used all shortening and added a half-cup of chopped pecans and these were FANTASTIC! Baked for 10 minutes on the dot, even though they didn't look quite done, they were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      Perfect! The only thing I changed was I only used 1/2 cup of white sugar and a cup and a half of brown sugar. They stayed soft and moist, which I love. They were even left on the counter over night and they are still soft. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Made exactly by the recipe(chips instead of raisins) Very nice testure to the dough and finished product was exceptional. Convection oven 10min with perfect results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      while creaming the shortening, butter and sugars, i decided to decrease the sugars by half, 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar and added an extra packet of vanilla sugar as a replacement. because i also added chocolate chips, they seem to taste sweet enough. i would change instruction 5 to read "Combine all the dry ingredients except the coconut." i am a wee bit instruction challenged myself and need the clarity. otherwise a fantastic recipe. i am looking forward to sharing these cookies with friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Made these just as posted (chocolate chip addition as well), and they turned out great. I don't monkey around trying to make a healthier cookie, as they are supposed to be a sweet treat, and I especially like a butter/shortening combo, which in my mind makes the best tasting cookie. These were all that! Thanks, Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

    • on January 16, 2010

      I made this recipe with chocolate chips and it was delicious! A little dry but not so much that you have to eat them with tea or coffee. Definitely don't cook them more than 10 minutes, even though they might not look done! After ten minutes they are just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I added chocolate chips to these...wow! yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Oatmeal Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.9
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    40%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 25.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 120.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites