Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Milk Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Milk Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 30, 2009

      Yum!! I substituted the heavy cream with half and half and used a mixture of about 2/3 rum 1/3 coconut extract in place of the malibu, as I didn't have any of that. Stirred in chopped up pieces of Mounds before putting it in the freezer to harden. This is creamy and delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I just purchased an ice cream freezer a few days ago and this was my first recipe. I actually used light coconut milk and half half to make the recipe a little lighter and it worked great. I also added some flaked coconut at the end for some extra flavor and texture. This is just like the ice cream at my favorite thai restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      I love this recipe. I added some almond extract and pistachio nuts. Tasted better then the expensive stuff from the store. I also made the recipe just as is and love it. Thank you LoriLou for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      I substituted fat free half and half and Splenda for the sugar. Added coconut the last five minutes...Excellent ice cream!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This was very good and very easy. I didn't change a thing and it came out perfect! thank you for sharing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      This was great! It was our first ice cream in our new machine. We used half and half instead of heavy whipping, upped the sugar to 2/3 cup and used between 1/3-1/2 a tablespoon of imitation coconut extract instead of the rum. We could have maybe used a little less of the extract, as it was very coconuty, but overall still wonderful. It was as good as the stuff I had on the beach in Mexico!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I substituted 2% milk for the heavy whipping cream and used lite coconut milk rather than regular. It is probably not as creamy as the original but much healthier! I didn't have coconut rum on hand so just used a bit of coconut extract. Topped with toasted coconut... mmm blissful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I also used half and half, and light coconut milk. I also added a few drops of coconut extract and 1/2 cup flaked, sweetened coconut for the last 5 minutes. It was excellent! Served it with Magic Shell, yum! Thanks for the perfect recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      If you like coconut and you like ice cream, you will love this! It is very easy to make & my family loves it, Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      This was deeeelish! I had some coconut milk leftover from another recipe in the back of my fridge and it was CRYING OUT to be used! I did have to cut the recipe in half (which didn't effect anything but the quantity of my ice cream) because my little churn only makes a pint. I didn't have anything but half-n-half, but it worked fine. After it froze most of the way, I stuck it back in the freezer to firm up a bit more. Absolutely a tropical treat! Thanks so much for posting a great recipe! I will definately be using this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      This was very good and creamy, almost too creamy. Next time I think I will make with either all whole milk instead of the cream or half milk and half cream. I liked that it was not overly sweet. We topped ours with toasted coconut. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      This wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. I left out the rum, and used 2% milk instead of heavy cream. So maybe it was my fault. I might make it again. I'm not sure though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Delicious flavor. I made exactly like the recipe, then added chopped up Almond Joy at the end. For some reason, my ice cream clumped up around the paddle of my machine - became very thick quickly. At that point it was perfect. I put it in the freezer, where it was still delicious, but had a drier quality to it. I don't know what could have caused it. It was almost as though I didn't have enough liquid in it, but others didn't have that problem. This problem has not caused us to restrain ourselves while eating it in any way and we all enjoyed it greatly. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Living very far off the beaten path, I had to adapt this to what I had available. I made it with 1 - 15 oz. can of Cream of Coconut, 2 cups whipping cream (actually Rich's,) NO added sugar, because the Cream of Coconut was already very sweet, 1 Tbsp Baccardi Rum, and a few drops each of coconut flavor and rum flavor. It was still too sweet, so I added about 1/2 cup of Coffee Rich (you could use milk,) and it's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Really good and really sweet. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      This is really yummy ice cream. I left out the coconut rum, only because I didn't have any. I added shredded coconut and mini marshmallows once the ice cream maker had finished. The family all love it, except for one who doesn't like anything coconut. I used castor sugar and it wasn't quite as sweet as I'd like, so I'd maybe add a wee bit more sugar next time. Thanks for the recipe LoriLou, will definately be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      This ice cream is out of this world! I had opened a can of coconut milk by accident and did an ingredient search to find a way to use it. This incredible recipe popped up and I couldn't resist it! I didn't have enough whipping cream on hand, so I used 1 1/4 cup of the whipping cream and substituted 3/4 cup of half and half (upping the amount of sugar to 2/3 cup). I did add about 1/3 cup of flaked coconut to the container before placing in the freezer. The result was awesome! I will be making this recipe a lot! Thank you, LoriLou! I love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Milk Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (973 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2815.2
     
    Calories from Fat 2319
    82%
    Total Fat 257.7 g
    396%
    Saturated Fat 182.0 g
    910%
    Cholesterol 652.1 mg
    217%
    Sodium 231.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 124.0 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 100.3 g
    401%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites