Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Macaroons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Macaroons

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2002

      These were easy to make. I had a complicated recipe with egg whites and they spread all over the pan. I am still scrapping. These on the other hand came out beautifully and I dipped the bottoms into melted semi-sweet chocolate. They were heavenly. Excellent recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I added 1/3 cup of flour and these came out delicous! It did spread a tiny bit but while they were still warm I pushed the sides in. Added a half a cherry slice on top of macaroons before baking. Very moist and full of flavor and oh so simple. A definate keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I used almond extract instead of vanilla and added 1/3 cup of flour. Baked for 14mins and then turned the broiler on for about 90seconds while watching them. Drizzled with chocolate. They were amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      I added one tablespoon flour to the recipe to keep the batter a little better integrated. It gave them kind of a sweet fluffiness in the center. I also drizzled 'em with ganache afterward [melted chocolate chips], which made them look professionally baked. I just told them I was a good bakeress. Anyhoo, everyone ate them, even my [facetious] snob of a date.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      I was sceptical because they are so simple. I even freaked out when they came out of the oven and did not look like I guess I thought they should. BUT THEY TASTE GREAT. Careful not turn burn!!! I used an EXOPAT on my cookie sheet which helped release them. Chewy and wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      this recipe turned out great! of course, i did use 1/3 cup of flour, and it was a good, thing, too. the bottoms were starting to spread when i took them out but i am sure it would have been much worse if there had been no flour. also, i would suggest using parchment paper instead of greasing the pan and they came off just fine. i loved how simple this recipie was, and topped it off by dipping the sides in chocolate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      Tasted SO good but they were goopey and not worth the hassle of trying to get them to come together in a ball once out of the oven or to get off the pan. Really, really delicious though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      delicious! I followed some of the others comments and I added 1/3 cup flour, so these little gems kept their shape. When they were formed i put them in the fridge for 10 minutes, and did have to bake them for 12-14 minutes to ensure that they weren't too soft. Cool, they are perfectly toasty on the outside, and chewy inside! Im hanging them in bags on my christmas tree! Next time I will replace vanilla with almond as they are sure to be divine! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      I selected this recipe to serve at my son's wedding last week. We had to tinker with it a little bit. We found that a lg. bag of coconut (51/3 cups)takes up more of the moisture from the can of milk and they hold their shape much better. My niece took the recipe home and made them to the delight of everyone. She wanted to know if you can buy coconut in bulk. This will be one of our favorite candy recipes from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      I added peppermint instead of vanilla also some crunched up candy cane before baking and baked them for 12 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      I wish that I would have read more of the reviews before trying this recipe. They turned into big blobs on the pan. They tasted ok but made a huge mess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      They taste wonderful and I love the simplicity of the recipe! However they turned into giant blobs in the oven. I will try again and maybe use some flour to bind them better next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I love this recipe. Used parchment paper and also added a little flour. So easy, so tasty and will be made again. Thank You so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Great easy recipe!! I made these while my house was being packed up and they were enjoyed by all. Added about an extra cup or so of coconut. I don't like coconut but my family finished them off in no time. They love coconut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Better get a batch of friends over to help you eat these. Otherwise, you'll gain! (They are about 100 calories per.) However, they are great! I used the 5.33 cups of coconut mentioned in a previous review and had to add about 1/4 c flour. Easy to make and so-o-o-o tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      My sister uses the same recipe, and they are delicious! She suggests the following: make sure they are browned in the oven, they taste better that way. Remove from the pan immediately (or they stick something awful). She says to dip your spatula in ice water between removing each one to get them off the pan easier. I'm giving them a shot today, might try parchment paper so I can slip them off the pan to cool, wish me luck! UPDATE: Parchment paper is the way to go, absolutely no sticking and I was able to pick them up off the paper with my fingers and transfer to the cooling racks (surprisingly they were not too hot to handle on the outside).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      very good. I had to make the milk according to Zaar recipe. I got 30. I have a tendency to make my cookies larger. Will be making again. Thank You Darlene Summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I only had 2 cups of coconut, so I substituted the missing 2 cups with half a cup of crushed almonds and half a cup of oatmeal. I also added a splash of almond extract. I worked out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I make these each year during the Holiday season. To garnish, I'll sometimes place a candied cherry half in the center of each chewy macaroon before baking. Yummy and oh, so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      So easy- used my pampered chef stone- oiled it and it worked great. Will keep this recipe ! Very sweet- but very good !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Macaroons

    Serving Size: 1 (742 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.2
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    64%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 3.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 17.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites