15 Reviews

A very smooth and satisfying dessert. Just a word from the wise...be VERY careful with the caramel. I forgot how hot caramel can get and got some stuck to the end of my thumb. I had to sleep with my hand in a cup of ice! Of course, silly me stuck my thumb in my mouth to get the caramel off and burned the roof of my mouth too! Anyway, you KNOW this recipe has to be good if it caused that much pain and I STILL gave it 5 stars! :o)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah January 24, 2003

Coconut custard mmmmm. Loved the smoothness of this flan and the caramel 'sauce'. I served this with a can of peaches and a dollop of whipped cream. Delicious!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* September 17, 2002

Very good and rich dessert. I loved the coconut Flavor! I didn't like to chew the coconut tho and found that I prefer my flan smooth. Really good this way, but I will try to find a way to get the flavor without having the shredded coconut disturbing the rich smoothness of this custard.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Earlie862 April 19, 2003

This recipe was very good. I made one substitution. I used unsweetened coconut milk instead of regular milk. I used the toasted coconut as a garnish. The taste was wonderful. That coconut flavor really came through with the coconut milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheryl874 September 16, 2012

Oh my this is DELICIOUS!!! Easy to prepare with outstanding results. One bite just is never enough. At one point my DH and I were even standing at the counter with a fork sharing the leftovers together. Will make again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover360 May 25, 2010

My daughter and I made this again. I don't even like coconut normally and this is so yummy. My daughter, my husband and I grabbed forks and ate it together from the pan at the kitchen counter! Just onnnnne more bite.... ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanny California April 20, 2010

I'm still giving this recipe 5 stars even though it did'nt turn out perfect for me (which was completely my fault). So here's what I did.... I used a 1/2 cup of sugar for the carmalized sugar, I substituted coconut milk for the regular milk, instead of mixing in the shredded coconut I sprinkled it over the unbaked custurd before baking, and I baked it in 8 (6 oz) ramakins. I had some problems along the way (which was'nt the recipes fault) I made 2 batches of the carmalized sugar before I got it just right and when I poured the caramalized sugar into each of the ramakins some of the boiling hot sugar got onto my thumb and gave me a 2nd degree burn so I ran over to the sink and put my thumb under cold running water. So the sugar hardened before I had a chance to coat the bottoms of the ramakins with the sugar. I was in alot of pain from the burn so I stuggled making the custurd, but I did manage to get it into the oven. I don't think I added enough of the water to the water bath because my flans curddled. After they chilled for a couple of hours I served them and the flans had a great flavor, but they were curddled. I don't know exactly why they curddled it could have been baking them in small individual ramakins. I must of had a bad baking day that day, but I think that the flans turned out pretty good for how much pain I was in while making them. Don't let this review stop you from making this recipe it is a good recipe that I will try again. Next time i'm using a flan dish and following the recipe exactly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cupcake-Princess March 11, 2010

Easy recipe that turned out well. I took other reviewers' advice and doubled the sugar and I also substituted both the shredded coconut and milk for 1 1/2 cups of canned coconut milk as I thought I would prefer a smooth custard to the chewiness of the shredded coconut. Don't worry if the carmelized sugar doesn't evenly coat the bottom of the baking dish in the second step, mine evened out during the water bath bake. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheezCrazy April 03, 2009

Holy Cow! I actually screamed out, "YES!!!" when I took the first bite because it was amazing. This was my first time to make flan, and I had no idea how to carmelize sugar... I doubled the amount of sugar at the suggestion of another reviewer and stirred it around a small sauce pan as instructed, but it actually melted better when I left it alone. When I poured it into the flan pan (I used a pyrex pie plate) and it immediately hardened I freaked out thinking about the huge mess i'd have to clean and trying to think of what to tell DH when he asked what the monstrosity I served for desert was... luckily after I flipped it, the carmel was nice and runny, just like the boxed kind, but better tasting. I didn't have shredded coconut, but I had coconut powder. When baked, all of the coconut rose to the top of the pan (ended up flipped as the bottom) and got lovely and lightly toasted. I also used the FF version of the condensed milk and it was decadent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camel_Cracker January 27, 2009

Ohhhhh Yummmmmm!!!!! I could eat the whole thing - but I would have to fight my mom off first! UPDATE: I made it (again...) but this time used fat free swettened condensed milk and 1% milk - it turn out AWESOME! I made it for the same group of people and all commented on how it tasted it "full fat". :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker November 23, 2008
Coconut Flan