Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Flan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Flan

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2003

      A very smooth and satisfying dessert. Just a word from the wise...be VERY careful with the caramel. I forgot how hot caramel can get and got some stuck to the end of my thumb. I had to sleep with my hand in a cup of ice! Of course, silly me stuck my thumb in my mouth to get the caramel off and burned the roof of my mouth too! Anyway, you KNOW this recipe has to be good if it caused that much pain and I STILL gave it 5 stars! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2002

      Coconut custard mmmmm. Loved the smoothness of this flan and the caramel 'sauce'. I served this with a can of peaches and a dollop of whipped cream. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      Very good and rich dessert. I loved the coconut Flavor! I didn't like to chew the coconut tho and found that I prefer my flan smooth. Really good this way, but I will try to find a way to get the flavor without having the shredded coconut disturbing the rich smoothness of this custard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      This recipe was very good. I made one substitution. I used unsweetened coconut milk instead of regular milk. I used the toasted coconut as a garnish. The taste was wonderful. That coconut flavor really came through with the coconut milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Oh my this is DELICIOUS!!! Easy to prepare with outstanding results. One bite just is never enough. At one point my DH and I were even standing at the counter with a fork sharing the leftovers together. Will make again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      My daughter and I made this again. I don't even like coconut normally and this is so yummy. My daughter, my husband and I grabbed forks and ate it together from the pan at the kitchen counter! Just onnnnne more bite.... ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      I'm still giving this recipe 5 stars even though it did'nt turn out perfect for me (which was completely my fault). So here's what I did.... I used a 1/2 cup of sugar for the carmalized sugar, I substituted coconut milk for the regular milk, instead of mixing in the shredded coconut I sprinkled it over the unbaked custurd before baking, and I baked it in 8 (6 oz) ramakins. I had some problems along the way (which was'nt the recipes fault) I made 2 batches of the carmalized sugar before I got it just right and when I poured the caramalized sugar into each of the ramakins some of the boiling hot sugar got onto my thumb and gave me a 2nd degree burn so I ran over to the sink and put my thumb under cold running water. So the sugar hardened before I had a chance to coat the bottoms of the ramakins with the sugar. I was in alot of pain from the burn so I stuggled making the custurd, but I did manage to get it into the oven. I don't think I added enough of the water to the water bath because my flans curddled. After they chilled for a couple of hours I served them and the flans had a great flavor, but they were curddled. I don't know exactly why they curddled it could have been baking them in small individual ramakins. I must of had a bad baking day that day, but I think that the flans turned out pretty good for how much pain I was in while making them. Don't let this review stop you from making this recipe it is a good recipe that I will try again. Next time i'm using a flan dish and following the recipe exactly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Easy recipe that turned out well. I took other reviewers' advice and doubled the sugar and I also substituted both the shredded coconut and milk for 1 1/2 cups of canned coconut milk as I thought I would prefer a smooth custard to the chewiness of the shredded coconut. Don't worry if the carmelized sugar doesn't evenly coat the bottom of the baking dish in the second step, mine evened out during the water bath bake. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      Holy Cow! I actually screamed out, "YES!!!" when I took the first bite because it was amazing. This was my first time to make flan, and I had no idea how to carmelize sugar... I doubled the amount of sugar at the suggestion of another reviewer and stirred it around a small sauce pan as instructed, but it actually melted better when I left it alone. When I poured it into the flan pan (I used a pyrex pie plate) and it immediately hardened I freaked out thinking about the huge mess i'd have to clean and trying to think of what to tell DH when he asked what the monstrosity I served for desert was... luckily after I flipped it, the carmel was nice and runny, just like the boxed kind, but better tasting. I didn't have shredded coconut, but I had coconut powder. When baked, all of the coconut rose to the top of the pan (ended up flipped as the bottom) and got lovely and lightly toasted. I also used the FF version of the condensed milk and it was decadent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Ohhhhh Yummmmmm!!!!! I could eat the whole thing - but I would have to fight my mom off first! UPDATE: I made it (again...) but this time used fat free swettened condensed milk and 1% milk - it turn out AWESOME! I made it for the same group of people and all commented on how it tasted it "full fat". :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      REALLY good! Instead of using milk, I used coconut milk and I think it really enhanced the flavor. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      This was very tasty, I skipped the icing b/c my family doesn't generally like things too sweet, and I used about 1/4 shredded coconut so it wouldn't be too coconutty. But other than that it was fabulous. You could easily leave out the coconut & just make regular flan & i bet it would still taste great. I will try this next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      My husband is French - and flan is sacred in France! He said that this recipe rivaled his mother's flan... so that can only mean five stars. I doubled the amount of sugar used to make the caramel because we really like our flan 'saucy'. For those of you who don't like the coconut, I also tried making this recipe without and it turned out wonderfully. I recommend either doubling the vanilla or adding a vanilla bean to be cooked in the flan and then taken out while serving. The vanilla bean was my mother-in-law's idea and it looked quite elegant and gave it a subtle vanilla flavour - very French, once again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      *AWESOME* recipe!! Delicious!! Very easy to make, and forgiving to small alterations. After coating with whipped cream, and sprinkled some extra coconut on top. I used the recipe for sweetened condensed milk (#14062) and baked in some pyrex dishes that had a smaller width (9x3 rectangle and 5 inch diameter round). The cook time was about 1/2 hour longer, and required 350 F.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      Lovely!! Tis was a perfect ending to our meal. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Flan

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.1
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    32%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 127.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites