Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Custard Pie (Tammy's Blend Pie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Custard Pie (Tammy's Blend Pie)

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2002

      This is my favorite coconut pie to make. So easy and so very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2002

      Super pie! I had an urge for custard and this was just the ticket!! This is very easy and delicious. The "crust" is tasty. I doubled the vanilla. Also, I baked it in a 9.5 inch pie pan and it took an extra 10 minutes. Great recipe thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      Excellent! Put everything in my blender for an few seconds and in no time at all I had my pie plate ready for the oven. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      What a super dessert! I am addicted to this already. The nice thing about this is it has ingredients that I usually have on hand. I followed this to a T, and put it in a 9-inch pie plate, and cooked for ten more minutes as another person mentioned. Right when it came out we had to have a peice...and it fell apart, but after another 20 minutes or so, it was pretty solid. Thanks for a great dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2002

      This was so easy and so good. I didn't realize I was almost out of vanilla, so I could only use a tiny bit and it was STILL awesome. This is the perfect recipe for a girl like me who doesn't bake!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      Not sure if I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe to a tee! It looked and smelled great while in the oven, but when I took it out, it looked and felt a little on the greasy side and tasted like mush on the inside - nothing like custard. Also, when I took it out of the oven it was nice and puffy but after a few minutes it dropped. I thought it was just me, but DH didn't care for it either. I ended up cooking it for 10 min. more b/c I only had a 9 inch pie plate (as per the other comments). Perhaps I should have cooked it longer, but the coconut was getting pretty brown. Sorry Melani*, wish I could give this more stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      I was surprised that I didn't see any reviewers suggesting using coconut milk instead of regular milk...but I decided to give it a try, and it was DELICIOUS! Adds a whole new level of coconut flavor, but I would recommend using Lite coconut milk to help keep the calories in check! Cooked it for just over 40 minutes, perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      It really does make its own crust!!! And man, did I have my doubts! I added one tablespoon corn starch, as per another reviewer's suggestion, and I cut the butter down to 1/3 stick. Also, I substituted one teaspoon of the vanilla extract for rum extract. It was great! Next time I think that I'll sub both tsp of vanilla for rum extract and put some sort of pineapple on top--pina colada pie perhaps? Thanks for a new standard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Wow!!! How easy is this!!! I was thrilled with the way this turned out. It looked, smelled and tasted delish!! I will say i baked it 20 mins longer then the recipe called for and believe me... you should too!!! It's a really nice coconut custard pie. I didn't think it had much of a crust but i don't really care for crust anyway.... just yummy filling suits me fine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      So yummy! I was looking for a recipe that used a lot of milk (I have 3 gallons in my fridge right now and needed to clear out some room). It only used 2 cups, but it's a start! The coconut got me--I'm a coconut nut! Only changes: I was looking at a few different recipes and accidentally put 4 eggs in instead of 3; used about 1/2 tsp of coconut extract and then put in about 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla; and-- because I haven't been able to find my blender (seriously)--I used my KitchenAid stand mixer to mix it. My oven is not level and it showed in the crust, but that this pie makes its own crust is no joke! This is going to be a new go-to recipe for me! Now I have to go buy more coconut! Thanks for posting this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      What a great find! My husband and I very nearly devoured this pie in one sitting. Luckily, sanity prevailed and we enjoyed it twice more. I shall keep this recipe and make it again and again. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      So glad I found this recipe- I changed it a lot but it was great. It used all lite coconut milk, coconut extract, 2 eggs, 1 tbsp. ground flax seed 3 tbsp. water mixed, 1 tbsp. cornstarch, 3 tbsp. butter mixed with rest of ingred. (not melted). I used frozen sweetened coconut so I reduced the sugar down to about 1/3 cup. I baked for about an hour but will increase cook time at least ten mins. next time. I loved that I didn't need a crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This is called an impossible pie in Australia and is a very old fashioned recipe. Great hot or cold. I like to add a can of well drained peaches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Tasty if you love custard (the eggy-ness is very evident...so if you have a picky eater that is opposed to that, try a cream pie instead!) - I loved the crust it made! Delicious. Thanks for the yummy recipe! I added cocunut and rum extracts as a previous reviewer mentioned and a dash of cornstarch as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

    • on July 12, 2011

      This was phenomenal, even though I forgot the butter. the formation of the crust is amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      So easy!! I used dried unsweetened coconut that had been in my cabinet well over a year and then only used two eggs because I found out at the last second that was all I had ( I added a heaping tablespoon of yogurt to make up for the missing egg). I also used fat-free milk, splenda for the sugar and added a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch, too. It was still excellent but the crust wasn't quite as firm as I would prefer although I think it was because I used a glass backing dish and possibly my substitutes. Will try cooking longer next time. (P.S. Two people finished the pie in one evening (that's how good it was).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I made this for a potluck. My husband loved it so much over there, he asked me to bake another one just for him the next day. Almost everyone has asked me for the recipe and I recieved many compliemnts. Very easy to throw together with great results! A couple of changes i made: 1.) i added a teaspoon of coconut extract 2.) i added 1 heaping tablespoon of corn starch (b/c i was afraid it was too runny and wouldn't set) and 3.) i baked it for a full hour and lastly 4.) I didn't use the full amount of butter, I felt it was too much and used only 1/3 stick of butter instead of 1/3 cup. I did run into one problem and that was that my bottom crust part wasn't too thick and it stuck to the pie pan even when it was greased. I don't know what to do about that. I'm thinking about applying this recipe to an actual pie crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      This is so yummy, I accidentally ate the whole thing. When I followed the directions exactly, it was kind of a runny, oily blob, but still tasty. I spoke to a student at the culinary school and he said not to melt the butter, just cream it in. He was right! I used 2 Tbs of butter & about a Tbs of corn starch just in case, and it held its shape and tasted amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Custard Pie (Tammy's Blend Pie)

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.3
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    54%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 78.8 mg
    26%
    Sodium 118.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 15.7 g
    63%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes