71 Reviews

This is my favorite coconut pie to make. So easy and so very tasty.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl October 27, 2002

Super pie! I had an urge for custard and this was just the ticket!! This is very easy and delicious. The "crust" is tasty. I doubled the vanilla. Also, I baked it in a 9.5 inch pie pan and it took an extra 10 minutes. Great recipe thanks!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfraz November 17, 2002

Excellent! Put everything in my blender for an few seconds and in no time at all I had my pie plate ready for the oven. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie October 29, 2002

What a super dessert! I am addicted to this already. The nice thing about this is it has ingredients that I usually have on hand. I followed this to a T, and put it in a 9-inch pie plate, and cooked for ten more minutes as another person mentioned. Right when it came out we had to have a peice...and it fell apart, but after another 20 minutes or so, it was pretty solid. Thanks for a great dessert!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Miss Diggy*~ January 26, 2003

This was so easy and so good. I didn't realize I was almost out of vanilla, so I could only use a tiny bit and it was STILL awesome. This is the perfect recipe for a girl like me who doesn't bake!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mariah November 22, 2002

Not sure if I did something wrong, but I followed the recipe to a tee! It looked and smelled great while in the oven, but when I took it out, it looked and felt a little on the greasy side and tasted like mush on the inside - nothing like custard. Also, when I took it out of the oven it was nice and puffy but after a few minutes it dropped. I thought it was just me, but DH didn't care for it either. I ended up cooking it for 10 min. more b/c I only had a 9 inch pie plate (as per the other comments). Perhaps I should have cooked it longer, but the coconut was getting pretty brown. Sorry Melani*, wish I could give this more stars.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz March 25, 2003

I was surprised that I didn't see any reviewers suggesting using coconut milk instead of regular milk...but I decided to give it a try, and it was DELICIOUS! Adds a whole new level of coconut flavor, but I would recommend using Lite coconut milk to help keep the calories in check! Cooked it for just over 40 minutes, perfect!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schwrl2 April 03, 2011

It really does make its own crust!!! And man, did I have my doubts! I added one tablespoon corn starch, as per another reviewer's suggestion, and I cut the butter down to 1/3 stick. Also, I substituted one teaspoon of the vanilla extract for rum extract. It was great! Next time I think that I'll sub both tsp of vanilla for rum extract and put some sort of pineapple on top--pina colada pie perhaps? Thanks for a new standard!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen April 10, 2010

Wow!!! How easy is this!!! I was thrilled with the way this turned out. It looked, smelled and tasted delish!! I will say i baked it 20 mins longer then the recipe called for and believe me... you should too!!! It's a really nice coconut custard pie. I didn't think it had much of a crust but i don't really care for crust anyway.... just yummy filling suits me fine!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sari #2 April 25, 2005

So yummy! I was looking for a recipe that used a lot of milk (I have 3 gallons in my fridge right now and needed to clear out some room). It only used 2 cups, but it's a start! The coconut got me--I'm a coconut nut! Only changes: I was looking at a few different recipes and accidentally put 4 eggs in instead of 3; used about 1/2 tsp of coconut extract and then put in about 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla; and-- because I haven't been able to find my blender (seriously)--I used my KitchenAid stand mixer to mix it. My oven is not level and it showed in the crust, but that this pie makes its own crust is no joke! This is going to be a new go-to recipe for me! Now I have to go buy more coconut! Thanks for posting this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
randimiller March 26, 2014
Coconut Custard Pie (Tammy's Blend Pie)