8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a nice coconut custard pie! I have been looking for a good coconut custard pie recipe that did not involve scalding the milk. This came out terrific. The only thing I did differently was add 1/3 cup of sugar and added the toasted coconut before baking. I plan on making this one for Christmas as well seeing it is my wife grandfathers favorite. I'm sure he will approve! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamond Joe December 01, 2007

I followed the recipe to the T. I was dissapointing. We found it bland and it was not sweet enought. I love Coconut pies and when I make this again I will add more sugar and coconut. I may add a 1/4 teaspoon of coconut extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 1086570 pigpurple June 09, 2012

The recipe was very easy. This was my first attempt at this kind of pie and for me it didn't have enough coconut flavor. I'm not sure if why but I tasted the egg more than the coconut. My grandparents like the pie, so this one got mixed reviews. I followed the recipe as is, and it was very simple and very pretty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy-to-2 October 04, 2007

I made this for Easter Dinner dessert It was delicious and quick! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DougYork April 08, 2007

Good, easy, basic and inexpensive pie to make with things most people would have at home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha January 07, 2007

This pie was very tasty and didn't last too long in my house. I baked one for a neighbor for Thanksgiving and they loved it also. Nice easy recipe, no confusing instructions, very clear. Not too sweet and not too spicy. Very nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davapirzada December 05, 2006

Delicious! A light custard-like filling that sets quite well when baked. I toasted the coconut firstly, and did increase the sugar slightly, I used all half and half cream. This is so easy to make with no precooking the filling first! I made early this morning to make certain that it would set for tonight. Thanks for a wonderful easy recipe that I will make again homegirl!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 16, 2006

Delicious pie and a bit different from other similar pies with the spices which we really enjoyed. I also really appreciated that the filling was the perfect amount for a frozen pie crust - with no over flow or extra filling. I baked my pie for 60 minutes but probably should have taken it out at 55 minutes - no harm done - still wonderful! Thanks for sharing this keeper which we will be having often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ July 19, 2005
Coconut Custard Pie