Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Curried Tofu with Green Jasmine Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Curried Tofu with Green Jasmine Rice

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2011

      Fabulous!! I am so full! I could eat this all day long. The rice IS unbelievably good, but the whole dish is first rate in my opinion! And beautiful too. I wasn't sure about this when I picked it, but I would definitely make it again just as is (with the small adjustment of adding some salt to the tofu!) Thank you Rita! Even tofu newbie Fiance thought it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      The star of this recipe is the amazingly flavorful rice! I will probably be making that rice to go with other dishes. The curry, as written, by itself, probably would have been 4 (or maybe even 3) stars. However, it's a really good "base" to which I added other things for more interest. I knew that, like Roosie, I would want more vegetables, so I added some mushrooms and spinach. I also added a fresh sliced jalapeno and used a whole teaspoon of crushed red pepper. It still wasn't spicy, but we added Sri Racha sauce upon serving. Also, I added extra coconut milk (went ahead and used up the rest of the can) and added soy sauce at the table. Oh, I also added a little salt to the rice flavoring mixture after tasting, and I used basmati brown rice. Thank you for posting this fresh, fun recipe! Made for Veg*an Swap, January 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      Pretty! The rice was a gorgeous emrald and the tofu a nice golden yellow. I, like Cookgirl, didn't add the tomatoes... neither BF nor I care much for cherry tomatoes and I don't like the flavor of raw tomatoes at all. However, I recently had a dish in a Thai restaurant with lightly cooked cherry tomatoes in it, and, honestly, I think they would have complimented the flavors of this recipe very well. I would have liked to see a bit more vegetation in the dish- maybe a bell pepper or an onion? I just felt that the texture/mouth-feel was a little "blah" - the rice was kind of damp and the tofu had the semi-squishy texture of tofu and it all sort of mushed together to me. The peanuts were a nice touch, but I was craving a bit more texture. I didn't have any lime juice on-hand so I simmered a Keffir lime leaf with the rice and used lemon in the puree. Worked well. All-in-all it made a pretty good dinner. We make Asian food frequently, and this was an interesting change from our usual fare. It worked just as directed- I prepared the tofu in my cast-iron wok and it worked quite well. Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      great recipe all around! I changed a few things as well: I like to fry my tofu in peanut oil first before adding to a recipe. This gives it a nice golden color and firm texture on the skin. In addition, I had loads of Thai basil in my garden but no cilantro, so i used the Thai basil instead. I also added 2/3 of a grated jalapeno to the blended mixture for the rice. My husband hates tomatoes, so I sauteed some orange peppers (thinly sliced) to mix with the tofu. My husband and I loved the contrast of colors and vibrant flavors of this dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Loved the flavors in this. Great vegetarian meal. Fun to make. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Wonderful variety of spices and flavorful but not too overpowering of a coconut taste even with that amount of coconut milk. Thai food is all about balance;-the spicy, the sweet, the exotic. Isn't it? When I cooked the jasmine rice I forgot to add in the cilantro so I garnish the finished dish with chopped cilantro and lime wedges. To the tofu mixture I substituted one half of a red jalapeno for the red pepper flakes and added about 1 heaping tablespoon of squeeze bottle lemon grass puree. For the vegetable oil I used a bit of peanut oil mixed in for added flavor. I also forgot to add the tomatoes which would have added nice color. Asian food is the most difficult and frustrating cuisine for me to prepare- more hits than misses. This was a big hit. Thanks for sharing. CG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      This dish was really good and different.The cilantro gave it such a pretty emerald color and a wonderful taste. I brought some coconuts back from Florida, so used the fresh juice and coconut. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Curried Tofu with Green Jasmine Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 392.2
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    40%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 611.8 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 14.9 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    light coconut milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites