24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This pie is "delish"! I made it for the family as one of my pies for Thanksgiving and it was THE favorite! The only change I made was to bake it for 5 minutes @ 350 after putting the meringue on the custard to brown the meringue slightly! Will definitely make it again SOON!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leeleemom December 03, 2008

This is the best coconut pie filling ever. I made it for a friend's housewarming, and it disappeared in a few minutes, with everyone asking, "Hey, where'd the pie go?" I used Kittencal's butter pie crust (#66929), which was flaky and delicious, and an excellent complement to the rich, creamy filling. If you're cooking on an electric stove, though, I'd forget about trying to cook this over low heat. After 25 minutes, it was still runny. I cranked the heat up to medium and cooked it until it started to bubble. I used whipped cream instead of meringue -- next time I'll try the meringue.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchenette October 09, 2005

This pie was so tasty! Creamy and decadent. I used whipped cream and toasted coconut to top it off instead of a meringue. I have made this many times now. Great pie & really easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp July 18, 2014

I made this today and it is excellent. Only change was to substitute non-fat half & half for the milk because all I had on hand was skim milk. I did put lots of coconut on top of the meringue before baking, The pie is rich and creamy and definitely will use this recipe again. Hubby loved the surprise!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reeivy June 11, 2012

This was fantastic! I only used 2 egg yolks by accident and it was still great. I toasted a couple tbsp's of coconut to garnish the top of the merange. It looked great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u June 19, 2011

I made this for Thanksgiving. I was told that my friends husband loved Coconut cream pie. So I made it for him. I have made these pies before. They are really easy to make, and this was no exception. It turned out wonderfully and we all enjoyed it very much. For the crust I used Graham Cracker-Coconut Pie Crust only I used Chocolate Graham Crackers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creation in Hope November 27, 2009

The rave reviews are justified! For those who had problems with it setting, be sure to follow the directions carefully. Thickening the filling slowly over low heat and then letting it cool as directed brought me great results. Also, I let the milk and eggs sit out a bit before I started preparation. The flavor is yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScotChef 2 January 30, 2009

This was delicious. I used fresh, minced coconut rather than shredded but it still turned out nicely. The only thing was that my filling didn't fully set up. I will be making this again soon. Used my own merangue recipe, 'tropical merangue'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassandraLynne11 August 07, 2008

My family really enjoyed this pie recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. I made a meringue with the leftover egg whites. The meringue recipe I used is #20159.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TipMuf June 25, 2008

Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TripLady February 27, 2008
Coconut Cream Pie