Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2008

      This pie is "delish"! I made it for the family as one of my pies for Thanksgiving and it was THE favorite! The only change I made was to bake it for 5 minutes @ 350 after putting the meringue on the custard to brown the meringue slightly! Will definitely make it again SOON!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      This is the best coconut pie filling ever. I made it for a friend's housewarming, and it disappeared in a few minutes, with everyone asking, "Hey, where'd the pie go?" I used Kittencal's butter pie crust (#66929), which was flaky and delicious, and an excellent complement to the rich, creamy filling. If you're cooking on an electric stove, though, I'd forget about trying to cook this over low heat. After 25 minutes, it was still runny. I cranked the heat up to medium and cooked it until it started to bubble. I used whipped cream instead of meringue -- next time I'll try the meringue.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      This pie was so tasty! Creamy and decadent. I used whipped cream and toasted coconut to top it off instead of a meringue. I have made this many times now. Great pie & really easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      I made this today and it is excellent. Only change was to substitute non-fat half & half for the milk because all I had on hand was skim milk. I did put lots of coconut on top of the meringue before baking, The pie is rich and creamy and definitely will use this recipe again. Hubby loved the surprise!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      This was fantastic! I only used 2 egg yolks by accident and it was still great. I toasted a couple tbsp's of coconut to garnish the top of the merange. It looked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I made this for Thanksgiving. I was told that my friends husband loved Coconut cream pie. So I made it for him. I have made these pies before. They are really easy to make, and this was no exception. It turned out wonderfully and we all enjoyed it very much. For the crust I used Graham Cracker-Coconut Pie Crust only I used Chocolate Graham Crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      The rave reviews are justified! For those who had problems with it setting, be sure to follow the directions carefully. Thickening the filling slowly over low heat and then letting it cool as directed brought me great results. Also, I let the milk and eggs sit out a bit before I started preparation. The flavor is yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This was delicious. I used fresh, minced coconut rather than shredded but it still turned out nicely. The only thing was that my filling didn't fully set up. I will be making this again soon. Used my own merangue recipe, 'tropical merangue'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      My family really enjoyed this pie recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. I made a meringue with the leftover egg whites. The meringue recipe I used is #20159.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I loved the taste of the filling. I too had a problem with the filling setting. I recommend this for a pudding instead of a pie. Either than that it did taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      i used this recipe to cater a party during the summer and it got rave reviews. i found this to be just the right sweetness. The only thing i did differently was to brush the pie crust with 3 tablespoons of milk mixed with 1/3 cup of powdered sugar to make it even better. thank you so much for this perfect recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I made 3 of these for Thanksgiving dinner. Fairly easy to make. The flavor was out of this world. I made one with Meringue on top and two topped with whipped cream. the only problems that i had was that it did not really set up as soon as the pie was cut the filling was running all over the place. Non of that stopped anyone from eating it but i think next time i will just make as a pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      Excellent pie! Nice and thick and held it's shape once it was cut. I used homemade whipped cream instead of the meringue. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This was a great pie. I made the filling in the microwave. Cooked it for about 4 minutes at 1 minute intervals and whisked it at the intervals then I beat up 2 whole eggs and added some of my hot liquid to it then put it all back in the bowl. Then cooked it for another 2 minutes at 30 second intervals. I did the 2 whole eggs so I would not waste the egg whites because I used whipping cream for the topping and put toasted cocounut on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      My DH loved this pie! I made it with a whipping cream top instead of the meringue because I had the egg whites in a bowl and my son-in-law threw them out! Next time, I'll try the meringue. I had no trouble getting the pudding to set. It is like making cooked pudding and pie filling. You have to be sure that the pudding comes to a boil before taking it off the heat. Also, some of the pudding should be added to the egg yolks before adding the egg yolks to the rest of the pudding. This is to prevent the egg yolks from curdling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      This is the second time I have tried to make coconut cream pie (different recipes), but I cannot get it to set. I think I must not be cooking it long enough, but I don't know. This recipe had great flavor, but we had to eat it as pudding instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      This pie is delicious!! I did have a problem getting it to set but I think it is my errors. First I didn't realize that I only had 2 eggs and it calls for three egg yolks. Then I was impatient about following the directions and letting it cool before pouring it into my shell. I used cool whip as a topper. It was so good I am going to keep trying until I get it right. Very refreshing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2005

      Made the filling by itself. Followed recipe as written. Sooooo delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      Thank you Bev for your recipe. My new son-in-law to be was your critique, and he loved it. The only mistake I did was I did not cool it in the fridge to set before I baked the Merinque. I would recommend that change in your recipe for others. You still deserve 5 stars as it was went over real well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.8
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    52%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 92.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 248.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes