Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2009

      Dreamy Good! Read the problems with meringues and thought I would share this tip from my catering business: Bring the sugar for the meringue (I use 2 T for each egg white) and 1-2 T water to a boil in a pyrex dish in the microwave. When the egg whites begin to stiffen up, drizzle the syrup into the whites slowly, while beating. The volume increases dramatically and makes a beautiful pie. Thanks for the good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Great recipe. A note about the previous posting on meringue: I solved that by doing something I saw Martha do on her show. I put the egg whites and sugar in a metal bowl and set it over warm water, whisking often till the sugar is melted and the whites are warm and smooth. You can use your clean fingers to test the texture. Then beat them as you usually do and cook. I haven't had a weeping problem since I started doing it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      I use low fat milk with no problems with the coconut custard. I did however have weeping (When water seeps between the filling and the meringue, the pie is weeping. Weeping is a common problem with meringue pies, but it is avoidable). Did some research and found that the original intent of a meringue-topped pie is to eat it right away; it will start to break down immediately, showing up as water in the bottom of the pan. So I suggest not to cool the pie after cooking the meringue as stated in step #10. Then some feel that it is really a watery layer that forms because of the interaction between the filling and the meringue; weeping is caused by undercooked meringue which frequently occurs when beaten meringue is spooned onto a cool filling. Which is also done in this recipe. Others feel that egg whites weep if they are over-beaten or are from old eggs. I must say I did beat the egg white till stiff as suggested in the directions. Sugar fills an important role in meringue. It stabilizes the beaten egg white foam which enables it to sit longer and hold its shape better than without. Sugar pulls the water from the eggs and allows it to set better. When using sugar, your meringue can run the risk of getting a gritty texture. To solve this, I like to use superfine sugar when making meringue because it dissolves faster than table sugar. But all in all this was quite delicious! Oh almost forgot I used untoasted coconut and it toasted up just fine when baking the meringue as you can see in the picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Made this today and was just what I was looking for. The taste is exactly what I remembered from my favorite Aunt's pies. Have baked many and not found what I was looking for till this one. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe and wonderful memories brought back to mind from years gone by. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This made for a delicious pie. The flavor was very nice and the filling nice and high which made for a good eye appeal. The pie was easy to slice. not runny but also not to firm. Just a great coconut cream pie with a winning tag in our house. Thanks for sharing this great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Cont'd from previous review.... Aaaahaaaa!!!! Now I have created the perfect pie crust thanks to Kittencal's No Fail Butterey Pie Crust. I sheepishly attempted it, thinking it would be like shoe leather (like all the rest), or I would have to scrap it off the kitchen counter....but to my shock, it was a breeze to make and yummy. Will be the only recipe I use with my cocunut cream pie and all the rest I plan on making every other day. On a roll....looks like I'll be rolling out of the kitchen with all this baking. This Thanksgiving I'm sure will be a success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      This pie is so good. The texture and the taste are wonderful. Thanks Nimz :) Made for Zaar Star game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      This is OUTSTANDING! We toasted our coconut before mixing it into custard but followed custard instructions faithfully. Simply delicious custard! We did use the meringue from another recipe because it turns out so nicely - The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie. Yours is our new favorite coconut cream pie recipe. Thanks so much for posting - we will use it as often as we ought to be eating coconut cream pie ( more often truthfully :))!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      This was my first attempt at making Cocout Cream Pie and it was delicious. I took Rita's advice about the sugar. I used 2 teaspoons of powdered sugar in the egg whites. I also put it on the warm pit. I had no weeping. I used toasted coconut on top of the pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      This is a great tasting coconut cream pie. I've made many and my husband said this is the best one (he's the expert when it comes to pies). It was easy to make and turned out fine for me. I can't wait to make it for our next pot luck dinner. Thanks for sharing this, dcmac. It's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      Although this was good, when I made the filling the first time I didn't cook it long enough and the second time it burned. The second time I made this pie the merinque all but slipped off the pie. I think most of my problems were my errors because the filling in this pie is very tasty it is just prone to cooking problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (1424 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3025.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1291
    42%
    Total Fat 143.4 g
    220%
    Saturated Fat 83.1 g
    415%
    Cholesterol 877.0 mg
    292%
    Sodium 1721.0 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 377.7 g
    125%
    Dietary Fiber 18.4 g
    73%
    Sugars 215.9 g
    863%
    Protein 63.9 g
    127%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites