62 Reviews

These aren't that great and don't taste coconutty. It tastes like a chewy sugar cookie with texture. I found them to be too sweet if using sweetened shredded coconut. Decrease the sugar by half in this case. To make the batter easier to work with, it needs a couple of tablespoons of milk plus 1 tsp of coconut extract. Then they are greatly improved.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supercrafty January 24, 2010

Delicious and incredibly easy! It is quite a soft cookie - almost like a cross between a biscuit and a cake but really really nice and very professional tasting! I followed the recipe exactly though my dough wasn't dropping consistency so I made little balls of dough and just pressed them with my hands to get a biscuit shape. They looked good and quite professional! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p81 November 08, 2010

Delectable! A nice soft cookie, with good coconut flavor. I did add about a 1/4 cup cream of coconut, as suggested by another reviewer and it brought the dough together nicely. My cookies needed 11 minutes, but that may be an oven variation. I'd like to try these cookies with a bit of almond extract, some mini chocolate chips and perhaps some slivered toasted almonds.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJen October 06, 2009

This cookies were a HIT at home.
I made regular size ones and a lot of tinny ones.
The small ones we added dulce de leche in the middle and made small cookie sandwiches (called alfajores in Argentina). To-die-for!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsPia August 22, 2012

Easy and delicious! Reminded me of the oblong coconut biscuits we would get in biscuit tins in England but soft and chewy like American cookies. They took 11 minutes for me at sea level. A great hit in our house and I'll be making them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Vivien February 05, 2012

This is the second time I have baked these AWESOME COOKIES. This is the best coconut cookie recipe I have ever tried. This is such a keeper. Thank you so much for posting a perfectly lightly sweetened cookie.. Even my daughter who hates coconut loves these. Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust August 06, 2010

I dont know if everybody out there knows Felix and Norton cookies!Im from montreal Quebec and its pretty big out here and I have to say this tastes like a Felix and Norton cookie.I made this cookie with margarine instead of butter and I think that the next time I make it I will add macadamian nuts and white chocholate chips.It is a really sweet cookie so if you dont like really sweet cookies than this recipe will not be for you.If you do like really sweet cookies bake and enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheyenne #2 June 14, 2010

I'll give it two stars because my daughter was able to eat these. BUT, the dough was very hard to work with, even after being in the fridge a few hours. The flavor was blah.. and they weren't nice and crispy on the edges. These were, oh it looks like a cookie i will eat it, but really no flavor. Sorry.. And we cooked ours 12-15 minutes. We are at sea level, so the 8 minutes should have been more than enough time. But these are very moist chewy cookies, just we won't be making them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz October 05, 2009

These are simple to make and very tasty! I've been making them for a couple of years and didn't realize I never rated them. I use food coloring to dye the coconut -- Orange for Halloween, Red/Green for Christmas; a popular cookie with coconut lovers -- mahalo for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aloha808 August 23, 2009

Very simple cookie. I was hoping the coconut taste would be more prominent. If doing it over again I would add coconut extract to give them more flavor. They satisfied my sweet craving and were enjoyed by all so thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk July 29, 2009
Coconut Cookies