23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this cake for my Dad's birthday...he usually get's a pineapple upside down cake but loves coconut too...so made one major change. I added a can of Crushed Pineapple in it's own juice to the cake... substituted the drained juice for the water it called for in my cake mix and also added almost the whole can of crushed pineapple to the mix. I also wanted it really to taste of coconut so mixed the whole can of Cream of Coconut (14 oz) with the can of condensed milk and mixed it before I poured it over the still hot from the oven cake. It turned out to be a wonderful Pineapple/Coconut cake and even my picky Dad loved it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheeky2222 April 20, 2010

This is very good IF you really like coconut (which I do). I make it somewhat differently though, and like it better that way. I bake my white cake mix according to package directions. While baking, heat cream of coconut and sweetened condensed milk until hot. Straight from oven, poke holes in cake (I use my wooden spoon handle, but some people don't like holes that big) and pour heated milk mixture over cake. Allow to cool, cover and refrigerate 8 hours or overnight. Refrigeration makes a big difference in the final product. I top mine using real, sweetened whipped cream (HUGE difference in taste!) and shredded coconut. I skip the pecans.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DixieLand September 09, 2008

Great!! I made it for my Mother-in-Law and she loved it. The only change I made was the frosting. I whisked 1 cup of milk and a small box of instant Jell-o vanilla pudding together and then folded in the Cool Whip. Thanks for the recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meanie Queenie May 02, 2002

Fabulous cake! And it's SO easy. Be sure to make it the day before so the milks have time to soak into the cake. If you make this cake for a pot-luck, you will become known for your coconut cake and you'll never have to wonder what to bring again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FranTic64 November 21, 2011

I really liked this cake but I toasted the coconut and the pecans! YUMMY! I also froze the cake into cut up ready to eat slices. DH loves it frozen! So good ... go make it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cakkt4 September 25, 2009

I made this for my mom's birthday and it was a hit all around! I read all the reviews first and made a few of the alterations and additions mentioned in order to get that extra punch of coconut flavor. I added 1 cup coconut to the cake batter. The cream of coconut was in a 15oz can, so I used it all (made the cake extremely moist). I mixed a box of instant coconut cream pudding with 1c of milk and folded that into probably 12oz. of Cool Whip as I had a large tub on hand. I didn't add the pecans only because I wanted the cake to be all white, but I'm sure they would taste wonderful with it. The end result was coconutty, rich and delicious. I wouldn't suggest this recipe for anyone worried about calories or fat though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xasperated October 09, 2009

My in-laws are from Alabama and were always talking about a coconut cake a bakery made. I found this one and they said it might be even better! Rich, moist, decadent. I like that the cool whip is light compared to the cake. Thank you for posting, Mona!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merandmalmom January 24, 2009

I made this and shared half with an Islander friend of ours and he loved it! He loves all things coconut and stated that cakes like this are very popular in Samoa. I made my own butter cake but other wise made as written. I will be making this again, thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom April 09, 2014

Top notch, easy cake to make! I added the cup of coconut cream to the batter and it makes it very moist. Couldn't find cream of coconut pudding so used vanilla. Instead of cool whip, I like using real whipping cream so just whipped that up with the instant pudding and a cup of milk..as for the flaked coconut, I toasted that first before sprinkling on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michellew May 23, 2010
Coconut-Condensed Milk Cake