Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut-Condensed Milk Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut-Condensed Milk Cake

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2010

      Made this cake for my Dad's birthday...he usually get's a pineapple upside down cake but loves coconut too...so made one major change. I added a can of Crushed Pineapple in it's own juice to the cake... substituted the drained juice for the water it called for in my cake mix and also added almost the whole can of crushed pineapple to the mix. I also wanted it really to taste of coconut so mixed the whole can of Cream of Coconut (14 oz) with the can of condensed milk and mixed it before I poured it over the still hot from the oven cake. It turned out to be a wonderful Pineapple/Coconut cake and even my picky Dad loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      This is very good IF you really like coconut (which I do). I make it somewhat differently though, and like it better that way. I bake my white cake mix according to package directions. While baking, heat cream of coconut and sweetened condensed milk until hot. Straight from oven, poke holes in cake (I use my wooden spoon handle, but some people don't like holes that big) and pour heated milk mixture over cake. Allow to cool, cover and refrigerate 8 hours or overnight. Refrigeration makes a big difference in the final product. I top mine using real, sweetened whipped cream (HUGE difference in taste!) and shredded coconut. I skip the pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      Great!! I made it for my Mother-in-Law and she loved it. The only change I made was the frosting. I whisked 1 cup of milk and a small box of instant Jell-o vanilla pudding together and then folded in the Cool Whip. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Fabulous cake! And it's SO easy. Be sure to make it the day before so the milks have time to soak into the cake. If you make this cake for a pot-luck, you will become known for your coconut cake and you'll never have to wonder what to bring again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      I really liked this cake but I toasted the coconut and the pecans! YUMMY! I also froze the cake into cut up ready to eat slices. DH loves it frozen! So good ... go make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I made this for my mom's birthday and it was a hit all around! I read all the reviews first and made a few of the alterations and additions mentioned in order to get that extra punch of coconut flavor. I added 1 cup coconut to the cake batter. The cream of coconut was in a 15oz can, so I used it all (made the cake extremely moist). I mixed a box of instant coconut cream pudding with 1c of milk and folded that into probably 12oz. of Cool Whip as I had a large tub on hand. I didn't add the pecans only because I wanted the cake to be all white, but I'm sure they would taste wonderful with it. The end result was coconutty, rich and delicious. I wouldn't suggest this recipe for anyone worried about calories or fat though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      My in-laws are from Alabama and were always talking about a coconut cake a bakery made. I found this one and they said it might be even better! Rich, moist, decadent. I like that the cool whip is light compared to the cake. Thank you for posting, Mona!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      I made this and shared half with an Islander friend of ours and he loved it! He loves all things coconut and stated that cakes like this are very popular in Samoa. I made my own butter cake but other wise made as written. I will be making this again, thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Top notch, easy cake to make! I added the cup of coconut cream to the batter and it makes it very moist. Couldn't find cream of coconut pudding so used vanilla. Instead of cool whip, I like using real whipping cream so just whipped that up with the instant pudding and a cup of milk..as for the flaked coconut, I toasted that first before sprinkling on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

    • on April 10, 2009

      We love this cake recipe!! Easy, delicious and beautiful. A coconut lover's dream. I used coconut milk in the cake mix instead of water and toasted the coconut for the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I made this for a church dinner and everyone seemed to like it. I thought it was great. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I have made this cake before and it is always a hit. It is so moist! I agree that it is better to make it the day before and that is always a plus with me! I agree with one of the other reviewers about making holes in the cake so that wonderful mixture is all through the cake and I like to use real sweetened whipped cream, but have used cool whip in a pinch. I do not put in nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Very good. I had to use up some coconut cream, this was a perfect recipe for that. So yummy! I used a coconut/pecan frosting, but I don't think it needed a frosting at all. Super moist and super tasty. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      This cake turned out so moist! We had a family emergency and didn't get to eat it until 2 days after I baked it. Even after that time it was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Great! I had half a box mix lying around (LOL!) after trying out another recipe and wanted to finish it off so decided to give this a go. It was wonderful! I threw in 3/4 cup of flaked coconut into the batter....simply heaven! I am not fond of box mixes because I cannot control the sweetness of the cake. After adding the condensed milk and coconut milk I knew it would be way too sweet for my family. To make up for that I drizzed a mix of low fat cream cheese, coconut cream and a little lemon juice with a touch of icing sugar over the cake. It did the trick alright! I also toasted about 1/2 cup coconut and sprinkled it on top of the cake. I have had 3 pieces already..need I saw more? :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      This was soooooo good. I made it using a butter cake mix. I only poured over a can of light coconut cream and low fat sweetened condensed milk and sprinkled coconut over the top. It was outstanding everyone raved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      made this was wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      So I made a layer cake with this using two circle cake pans and punching holes with a fork and spooning the mixture on each (almost all but not quite...next time I would USE IT ALL and just wait until it was absorbed enough that I could do that with the layer cake without making a mess.) This makes the cake very milky and moist, almost like those middle eastern desserts that are soaked in honey. It's a very elegant soaking and I would have liked to have seen it perforated more into the cake. I whipped cream (plain, without sugar, there is plenty where that came from in the cake!) and used that as frosting. I also used whole pecans for decoration and a ton of coconut. Really beautiful. Is keeping well. Is yummy, but has that "boxed cake" taste (well it IS, after all!) But easy and elegant to make in a chinch. Even had someone ask for the recipe and everyone agreed that it made a beautiful presentation. Tasty. Not SO coconut-y. Very light taste and flavor. Perfect for a spring day or wedding/bridal shower. Light. Gentle. Lovely. VERY white. :) Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This is an outstanding cake. I make this for my family quite a bit. Its a fast and easy to make very yummy dessert! (I was going to submit this recipe, and did a quick search before I did.) This cake is best eaten cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut-Condensed Milk Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.7
     
    Calories from Fat 261
    45%
    Total Fat 29.0 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 58.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 381.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.4 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 62.4 g
    249%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites