28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved the flavor combinations. I have never made chutney from scratch before, and DH loved it. The store didn't have great mangoes or jalapenos. So, I used some Del Monte peaches and mangoes and pickled jalapeno slices. I reduced the amount of vinegar to compensate for pickled jalapenos. I was worried it wouldn't taste right, but shockingly it worked really well. The coconut was a great change. I used Panko bread crumbs too. I put it in the oven at 450' on convection to cut the fat. And it came out crispy and moist. Thanks for posting this one!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mum@home May 01, 2010

Oh this was so delicious-youdefinitely have to make the chutney too! wonderful combination of crispy chicken and sweet, spicy chutney. I made this for Best of 2010 Tag-thanks for a new family favorite!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jociecee February 27, 2011

I can't believe how easy this was! Though it was a bit intensive, once I got the chutney on, everything else followed, easily! I did skip the raisins in the chutney, and I couldn't find the turmeric (been too long since I've used it) so I omitted it also. I did up the 'heat' and used 1 tsp. of cayenne, and I used a shake of jerk seasoning (which was very complimentary.) The batter was thick enough, which ensured the adherence of the breading mix. I added a shake of cayenne to the panko/coconut mix, for a little added heat. They fried up nicely, and were very enjoyable with the chutney (which I was so proud - I made it myself! :-) ) What a great recipe, Susie D! Thanks so much for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl April 18, 2010

Absolutely outstanding. Made as written with the exception of omitting the Jalapeno and using white pepper in place of the cayenne pepper in the chutney and it was full of flavor and very easy to prepare. This will be made again, thanks for posting such a great recipe. Made for ZWT7 Golden Gourmets.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 June 17, 2011

This was relatively easy and SO GOOD! I made a few substitutions, rather than making a trip to the store - dried cranberries for raisins and a hot type of green chili for the jalapeno. Excellant flavor but the chutney was kind of a dull green - the only drawback. Mangoes are in season now I highly recommend this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clara52 May 22, 2010

Delish! My usual recipe ( from Zaar) uses corn starch, which I was out of. So I gave this one a try. Came out wonderful. I didint have any mango chutney so I served this with both honey mustard and orange marmalade dressings ( recipes from Zaar). There was not a bite left. Thanks for the great recipe!. The only things that I will try next time are increasing the coconut/bread crumb ratio *( we love crispy coconut!) and serving the fingers with the mango chutney. I made this again with a little more coconut-I also used the advice to pulse the bread crumbs and coconut in the food processor. I served this with my own sauces , which are posted ( the honey mustard and the apricot dipping). THIS IS OUR FAVORITE coconut chicken recipe-I cant wait to try the salsa when mangos become in seaseon here

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover May 11, 2010

Holy cow, was this ever good! Everyone kept remarking how wonderful the chicken was and my son told me to declare this a favorite. High praise! I was the only one who ate the chutney - but I secretly didn't mind because it was DELICIOUS! I'm not usually much of a chutney person (and obviously my family isn't either) but I decided to give it a whirl. I am SO glad that I did. The flavors were amazing!!! I loved the cinnamon, nutmeg and tumeric flavors peeking through. This recipe was made for the best of 2009 recipe tag game AND will make it into my best of 2010 cookbook. Thank you for creating this treat. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 26, 2010

Outstanding! Made for company and they were impressed! The chutney was easy to make - I used my immersion blender to zip the mango and jalepeno, worked fine.<br/>made for Soup-a-Stars ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky August 03, 2013

This was delicious and had us all very happy. The chutney is just the right combo of sweet/tart and is so good with the chicken fingers. Served with baked sweet potato fries for an awesome meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens August 03, 2013

This rating is ONLY for the Mango Chutney....which was WONDERFUL. I made the chutney to go with a a pork tenderloin that I grilled for a family dinner. The chutney was delicious and so quick and easy. Definitely a "do-again" according to everyone. Someday, I'm going to have to try those chicken fingers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted June 11, 2012
Coconut Chicken Fingers With 30 Minute Mango Chutney