9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best Coconut Cake I have ever eaten! The first time I made it with both a box of butter pecan cake mix and yellow cake mix and it came out perfect. The other times I made it with just one cake mix which is what I should have done the first time. Either way, this cake is fantastic. I will continue to make this as my coconut cake. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe. Everyone in my house LOVES it! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*HogHeaven* June 29, 2013

As my DH was eating his 3rd piece of this, he said "I don't like coconut, but you can make this for me anytime." Simply delicious. I chose this recipe out of about 10 or 12 others that I had saved. It's now going in to the keeper file. Great!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askinnycook May 10, 2011

All I have to say is WOW ! I followed the directions exactly although I was a bit skeptical about adding all of that liquid...but did it anyway. It turned out so moist and delicious....hubby kept telling me that I have to make this again real soon. My future daughter-in-law wolfed it down before dinner....so this is a definite keeper ! Thanks so much. I will make this one often !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher September 24, 2010

I am not a coconut fan at all, but I made this for a friend for his birthday. Then for another event. I tried a piece and man do I love this cake. Like I said I'm not a fan of coconut, but there's just something about this cake. It is so moist, and yummy, I could eat the whole thing myself. 5 stars from me. Great recipe!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Zysk October 22, 2008

I substituted pineapple juice (from a bottle) for the water and put pineapple slices on top of the cake. It was apparently delicious (I don't like coconut, but everyone else loved it).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmelyn Johnson September 17, 2007

This recipe was simple and deliciious!!! I used coconut cake mix instead of yellow or butter pecan. Everyone loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Reynolds April 21, 2006

Thank you, Laurie - because you made me the the hit of the party on Xmas Eve with this cake!! I was so afraid to make it - it just didn't sound right to pour in all that liquid. Everyone loved it! I left out the nuts and added some shredded coconut to the Cool Whip frosting. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee December 28, 2005

Laurie, This cake is the best. Just made this for a family dinner. What raves. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Happy Cooker February 16, 2005

My son and his two friens came over and I gave them some of this cake. I had to stand in front of the cake to keep it from getting devoured! My husband and daughter love it too! Thanks for a cake I will make again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 26, 2004
Coconut Cake