15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious cake, moist, and easy to make as well. I only had one cup flaked coconut and I didn't have any coconut extract (so I left that out) but it still had a nice coconut flavor, enough for me anyway. Ashley, I would suggest you edit this recipe . . . as you can see, steps 4 and 5 are duplicates and there is no mention of the additions of the sugar or coconut milk (except in the glaze). I figured it out, but others might have problems. After you do so, I'll come back and edit my review (removing this second paragraph). Thanks for the lovely recipe !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx March 04, 2004

This was the first time I've made a coconut cake and I don't think I will ever look for another recipe. I made this for a party and people could not say enough good things about it. Almost everyone went back for seconds. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicas510 August 04, 2013

The texture of this cake is what makes it! So soft and moist. My icing turned out a little sticky but still amazing overall! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer jay August 04, 2011

My son loves this cake! I expected a much more pronounced coconut flavor with using both the extract and coconut milk. The texture reminds me very much of a pound cake but that could be due to having to substitute corn starch and all purpose flour for the cake flour since I didn't have any on hand. In any case I can't wait till the strawberries are looking better as this cake is just screaming for some fresh sliced berries and whipped cream. (13)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie January 28, 2011

Made this cake yesterday.As it was baking my son told me to start making another cake as he would eat it right out of the oven. The smell was driving him crazy......this is one is a keeper.....taste, smell and texture all excellent..This is a 5 star..thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma K May 07, 2010

I made this cake for a family gathering. What a treat! The texture was rich and the flavor was intense without being overly sweet. It received rave reviews all the way around! Will def make again and again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovethejewelry April 28, 2010

Amazing! So delicious, moist, delicate. Toasted the coconout for the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjchipmunk February 13, 2010

I didn't have any extracts but made the cake without them. it was fantastic! everyone loved the cake and it didn't even last the day. definitely make the glaze, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CiaoIleana September 27, 2008

Wow! This is one of the best cakes I made from scratch. It was light and moist with a light coconut taste. I used unsweetened coconut juice instead of coconut milk and I think this gave it a lighter coconut taste. The glaze makes for a beautiful presentation and allows the cake to travel well. Will definately make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiat May 28, 2008

I made this cake because I had a cup of cocnut milk left from another recipe. I made the right choice - it was light, moist & full of flavour! Since I was missing the coconut milk for the glaze, I used 1 tsp of coconut extract topped up with half & half to make 1/4 cup. Thanx Ashley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady March 12, 2008
Coconut Bundt Cake With Powdered-Sugar Glaze