20 Reviews

the best recipe for brownies I have ever found.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirsty Smith April 18, 2001

These are great and always get rave reviews. I generally use part vanilla and part coconut extract for a bit of an additional coconut kick. I also use light butter (and generally skip the nuts) to keep the calories down a smidge and that's worked just fine.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrispyRice October 20, 2007

These are very, very, very good. I substituted splenda, guess I'll take my chances with cancer rather than obesity. I am amazed about the comments re: cooking time. I didn't think enough batter for a 9 X 13 so used a 12 X 7, set at 325 instead of 350. I always back off the temp as it seems to cook more evenly and prevents the ends from becoming too done. Only did for 21 minutes but then, all ovens are different. Mine came out perfectly. As another reviewer mentioned, eliminate 1 step, can't make a whole lot of difference in taste.so just added walnuts to batter. I do like the suggestion that you add coconut extract, that should amp it up. Also, wish I had unsweetened coconut, less calories & probably doesn't make that much of a difference. OK, Sheba, throwing away my old recipe and using yours., Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan7 July 25, 2013

I was not sure these would even turn out after I put them in the oven, but they surprisingly did. I am unsure if it was something like overmixing or the changes I made or whether it was the recipe but the batter was VERY thick and sticky. There was no "pouring" into the dish as the instructions stated. It was quite the battle to spread it out and I thought for sure it was way too thin. But I decided to bake it anyway and just keep a close watch on it. It only took 25 minutes to cook through and maybe could have gone even less which tells me there must have been something I did wrong since many reviewers mentioned cooking longer than listed time. Anyway, though still somewhat thin and dense they had a great flavor and a nice chewyness to them. The changes I made were using 1 1/2 cup splenda along with 1/2 cup sugar. I left out the nuts, and also the additional sugar sprinkled on top. I may have added more chocolate chips than called for. And I used 4 egg whites and only 2 of the yokes. I also used half vanilla extract and half coconut as another recommended. Even with messing up somewhere they turned out rather tastey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer March 20, 2008

This is a excellent recipe. I tosted the coconut and added butterscotch chips also. Big hit with everyone! Chefmpal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefmpal February 06, 2008

These are the best. Everyone loves it when I take them to the office. I just mix the chips and nuts into the brownies. Easy too, I just melt the butter in a saucepan and mix them in same pan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherrypies November 21, 2005

I made these for a fireworks picnic on the 4th of July. Everyone loved them! Needless to say they were such a hit that I brought home an empty container! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodie61 July 19, 2005

A new family favorite!! They were very moist and wonderful and left the pan with the blink of an eye. I will be making these again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Pam July 18, 2005

These brownies tasted just right. They were not chocolate overload. The coconut seemed to balance the chocolate flavour and make it moist. It was easy to make and they looked fabulous! Lots of compliments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Jones29 April 01, 2005

LOVED these! What a GREAT idea adding coconut to brownies! So easy to make, I popped them into the oven while we ate dinner so we could smell them baking as we ate. I added a bit more chocolate chips and stirred the walnuts into the batter instead of putting them on top. Thanks for a great brownie recipe! I will be making them again. . .soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anissa March 12, 2005
Coconut Brownies