Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Brownies

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2001

      the best recipe for brownies I have ever found.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      These are great and always get rave reviews. I generally use part vanilla and part coconut extract for a bit of an additional coconut kick. I also use light butter (and generally skip the nuts) to keep the calories down a smidge and that's worked just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      These are very, very, very good. I substituted splenda, guess I'll take my chances with cancer rather than obesity. I am amazed about the comments re: cooking time. I didn't think enough batter for a 9 X 13 so used a 12 X 7, set at 325 instead of 350. I always back off the temp as it seems to cook more evenly and prevents the ends from becoming too done. Only did for 21 minutes but then, all ovens are different. Mine came out perfectly. As another reviewer mentioned, eliminate 1 step, can't make a whole lot of difference in taste.so just added walnuts to batter. I do like the suggestion that you add coconut extract, that should amp it up. Also, wish I had unsweetened coconut, less calories & probably doesn't make that much of a difference. OK, Sheba, throwing away my old recipe and using yours., Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I was not sure these would even turn out after I put them in the oven, but they surprisingly did. I am unsure if it was something like overmixing or the changes I made or whether it was the recipe but the batter was VERY thick and sticky. There was no "pouring" into the dish as the instructions stated. It was quite the battle to spread it out and I thought for sure it was way too thin. But I decided to bake it anyway and just keep a close watch on it. It only took 25 minutes to cook through and maybe could have gone even less which tells me there must have been something I did wrong since many reviewers mentioned cooking longer than listed time. Anyway, though still somewhat thin and dense they had a great flavor and a nice chewyness to them. The changes I made were using 1 1/2 cup splenda along with 1/2 cup sugar. I left out the nuts, and also the additional sugar sprinkled on top. I may have added more chocolate chips than called for. And I used 4 egg whites and only 2 of the yokes. I also used half vanilla extract and half coconut as another recommended. Even with messing up somewhere they turned out rather tastey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      This is a excellent recipe. I tosted the coconut and added butterscotch chips also. Big hit with everyone! Chefmpal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      These are the best. Everyone loves it when I take them to the office. I just mix the chips and nuts into the brownies. Easy too, I just melt the butter in a saucepan and mix them in same pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      I made these for a fireworks picnic on the 4th of July. Everyone loved them! Needless to say they were such a hit that I brought home an empty container! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      A new family favorite!! They were very moist and wonderful and left the pan with the blink of an eye. I will be making these again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      These brownies tasted just right. They were not chocolate overload. The coconut seemed to balance the chocolate flavour and make it moist. It was easy to make and they looked fabulous! Lots of compliments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      LOVED these! What a GREAT idea adding coconut to brownies! So easy to make, I popped them into the oven while we ate dinner so we could smell them baking as we ate. I added a bit more chocolate chips and stirred the walnuts into the batter instead of putting them on top. Thanks for a great brownie recipe! I will be making them again. . .soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      These were very tasty but it took me longer than the stated 30 minutes to cook.It was more like 45 for me.I went exactly by the recipe,no substitutions.Only change was that I didn't use any walnuts.I love the coconut taste to these,very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      I made these because I had a surplus of both coconut and pecans. The cooking time went 20 minutes over what is stated in the recipe for me, but that could be because I substituted chocolate drink mix for the regular cocoa. Once the brownies cooled, they were delicious. The coconut wasn't overwhelming and the chocolate chips and pecans on top added interesting texture. However, I could have done without the sugar sprinkled on top--too grainy. I think next time I'll skip it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2004

      Very tasty brownies! I popped it in the oven as we were sitting down to dinner so they were ready to serve after eating...a great (and highly addictive) dessert! Highly reccomended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      Very quick and easy to make. Better when warm. My husband (the Brownie lover) said they were too sweet, but I disagree. I topped the Brownies with more coconut rather than nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      Ok these are the best and easiest brownies ever - my entire family ate them and they don't like coconut!!! Thank you , thank you ,thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      This receipe is very rich and very good. It is also very easy and quick to make. I will make these again. I do think they are tastier when they are warm than cold. Thanks RecipeZaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2004

      These are great! I made them last night and had every thing mixed, then realized I didn't have any chocolate chips!! I subbed in butterscotch chips and they are great!. I took them to work this morning and got rave reviews!! I'll make them again, maybe I'll try those raspberry chips I saw metioned in one of the forums. Thanks so much for sharing. This is a definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2004

      These are heavenly! Perfect texture and so moist. The flavor remains in your memory - they're that good! I always thought my mother's brownie recipe was the world's best. After eating these, it's a toss up! Hats off to Recipezaar!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      These were a nice, mounds-style brownie. I added toasted coconut to the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      This is a FANTASTIC recipe for brownies, especially if you like coconut. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 272.0
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    34%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 61.7 mg
    20%
    Sodium 157.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 31.5 g
    126%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes