24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM. Had everything for this in the cupboard and it turned out great. I took advice from other reviews and only put half the coconut mix on top, but think it could have done with more than that. Also, had to cook for an extra 10 minutes. Family loved it warm, with ice cream

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybubbasrock August 23, 2014

YUCK. Does NOT taste like chocolate and coconut. It tastes like a very bland not good brownie, with a ton of stringy coconut and sweetened condensed milk. It was not good. I had high hopes as this could be a great flavor combo. If I were to make this again, I would use my sister's fabulous brownie recipe, and make a toasted coconut cream cheese mix to drop into it. That would be good. BUT this recipe.. well, all those who took some at the potluck took only one bite and threw it away. Sorry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz November 20, 2008

This thing is evil...If you like chocolate/coconut candy, you will love this. Very simple to make with onhand ingredients. Warm ,chocolatey and oozing coconut sauce. Yummy! Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 November 13, 2008

I had 1 oz of unsweetened chocolate so I used that and then 2 substantial handfuls of chocolate chips. I brought the sugar down a bit because of the chocolate chips, but think it might have been better at original levels. And I went with the recipe's amount of coconut/sweetened condensed milk though I think I'd bring that down a bit next time. All in all a really nice ooey gooey dessert with a brownie crust. Made for your cookathon! Hope you know how much you mean to us all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit July 16, 2008

I used milk chocolate decreased to 1/3 cup threw in almonds and it turned out wonderful very good thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stovetop stephanie May 09, 2008

Chocolate and coconut - yumm! I ended up making a slightly modified version of the recipe as per other reviewers' suggestions. I used 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk and 100 g (scant 4 oz) of coconut. Also used 3 oz of semisweet chocolate and consequently decreased sugar by 3 tbls. Baked for 40 minutes and it may have been a few minutes too much - 35 minutes would have been perfect I think. Turned out delicious though! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee February 03, 2008

I bet these would be delicious with some chopped almonds mixed in, to complete that mounds bar :) I love almond joys!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen September 17, 2007

The taste of this brownie is awesome. I did have an issue with the cooking time and amount of coconut mixture. I baked for 55 minutes and the middle was still gooey. I think half of the coconut/condensed milk would be plenty for this and will allow baking to go over better. I also used milk chocolate instead of the unsweetened chocolate since I had it in the house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gayle210 February 03, 2007

Very yummy, though a tad sweet for me. I doubled the recipe, baked it in a 9x13 and did this neat thing with the coconut: take a large piece of Saran Wrap, spread the coconut on it into a rectangle just a bit smaller than the pan, invert it over the brownie mixture and peel the Saran away. Trust me, it will not fall off the inverted Saran and it will still pull away cleanly from the coconut. But, definately a neat recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'm_Genia April 16, 2005

What more can I add, I think all the other reviewers covered it... this is fantastic! Really enjoyed this and the rich browine layer is like nothing else. Might have to try that on its own sometime with ice cream. I think I might also try adding slivered almonds to the coconut layer sometime. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MI Mitten February 16, 2005
Coconut Brownie Pie