15 Reviews

Sorry, but this just didn't work out for me. It barely had any taste at all, and I even added in an extra 1/4 cup of sweetened coconut. It was edible, but just didn't taste like much of anything. I was going to eat it anyways but I don't think it's worth the calories. I won't be making it again, unless I add a lot of extra stuff in it, like maybe chocolate chips and pineapple. EDITED TO CHANGE RATING: I am updating my rating from a 2 to a 4. I put it in the fridge and tried it again the next day and it was a lot better. I think it gave the flavor a chance to set in, because there seemed to be a huge difference. I would consider making it again, but I would wait 1-2 days to eat it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG February 03, 2009

Made this last night and it was delicious. I used coconut milk in place of regular milk for added flavor. It was really tasty right out of the oven but even better the next morning, reheated, with a cup of coffee. A definite keeper for sure.. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imarunnergirl August 31, 2013

This was wonderful. The only problem I had was that I did not grease the pan enough. Next time I think I would grease and dust with flour. The bottom came off a little, but it was delicious. I made a Thai dish last night so I had some coconut milk that I used in this recipe. I searched for recipes with coconut because I had some in th cupboard from a recipe I did not make during the holidays. I love sweet bread, but this is really a treat because it is something different than your ordinary zuchini or banana bread. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Cecile March 25, 2009

This bread was great! So quick and simple to make. I doubt my loaf will make it to the end of the day. Thanks Nova!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy October 13, 2007

We weren't really crazy about this. I'm not sure what we were expecting, perhaps something moister or sweeter? That said, it is really good toasted with some raspberry jam. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chiclet September 15, 2007

We have been enjoying this loaf of bread for two days now. My husband loves it. Next time, I will add some coconut flavoring and try it that way. The bread was easy to make, had a nice texture (the form of coconut used will either increase or decrease the moisture in this loaf) and was very pretty with a nice glossy top. Thank you, for submitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton July 12, 2007

Not much I can add to all these glowing reviews, except they are right! Delicious! I used Splenda and cut baking time, and used flaked unsweetened coconut, which is a little chewier than shredded, I think. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here April 20, 2007

Sum it up in one word... D-E-L-C-I-O-U-S!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks April 03, 2007

This recipe tasted great! I followed the recipe exactly and used 1% milk and unsweetened coconut and it tasted so good.The ingredients were ones that i always have on hand and the instructions were so easy to follow. I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trini girl April 03, 2007

Just made this tonight and it was awesome! I added 3/4 cup chopped pecans, and it was yummy. ;-) Gonna bring it to work tomorrow (after having one slice to split between me and hubby).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skymonkey March 18, 2007
Coconut Bread