29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were amazing! Loved them! I had to force myself to stop eating them. I used flaked almonds and white chocolate chips in place of the pecans. These were so easy to make and so delicious! Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
umisa August 18, 2010

So very, very good! DH can't stop eating them. The only change I made was to use toasted pecans, and will use 3/4 tespoon salt next time. These will be made often here. Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 20, 2010

Excellent! Did them with the almond extract and then added toasted almonds to the recipe. Didn't have flake coconut so used 3/4 cup coconut 'flour' (coarse grind, unsweetened). Could've used a full cup. Good stuff!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB June 14, 2010

I've made these before, but I don't use nuts as the family doesn't care for nuts in blondies or brownies. I like them baked in a 7x11 pan or a long 2 qt. baking dish so they turn out a little thicker. Also, they keep well in the freezer. Thanks for posting this wonderful and easy recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby May 22, 2010

Just made these and they are awesome! I used almond extract instead and added some chocolate & white chocolate chips into the batter. They came out tasting like my coconut cookies, but in a brownie! This was so easy to make, I'll be making this often now.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hamlin May 20, 2010

i made these, and substituted 1 cup of chocolate chips for the pecans. brought them in for a send-off for a coworker. in a small (20 person) office, two 13x9 pans were polished off in 20 minutes!! And everyone asks when i'm going to bring them in again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathy the sometime cook April 01, 2009

So chewy and delicious! They tasted like some little treat I had in Jamaica-- they have an island feel to them with the coconut. Fantastic! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Frosting September 25, 2008

WOW!!! We are big fans of these little chewy fellas! Turned out we only needed 24 minutes of bake time. Thanks Sharlene!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasBlonde July 16, 2008

Love, love, love these! So chewy and buttery! (I tried the regular coconut version, no nuts, our preference.) My only complaints are they are rather thin (only about 1/2" thick once baked), so I may try putting the whole recipe in an 8" pan next time and see how that goes. Also, their finished appearance is rather bland, so I will try to think of some type of topping that will up the "wow" factor without taking away from the flavor. Frosting would be too much, but maybe a sprinkle of icing sugar or a drizzle of caramel sauce...MMMM! Update...baking this full recipe in an 8" pan is NOT the way to go...you end up with VERY tall sides, but the center is still so thin. I tried the icing sugar sprinkle and was impressed with the visual results.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef summerlover May 10, 2008

These were delicious!!! I added some white chocolate chips and sprinkled more coconut and slivered almonds on top. Great versitle recipe you can add anything you like to the blondie mix but my husband loves coconut so I made these for him. I did read the warning not to let them cook to long and forgot about a extra 8 mins and they came out a lil brown but still delicious and chewy. Next time I will have to really heed that warning so they are a little lighter.Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen March 02, 2008
Coconut Blondies