10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious, simply delicious. We love rice, and this wonderful dish is no exception. It was so tasty, quick and easy to make with lovely, lovely results. Great flavor and textures. The golden raisins and cashews are a great addition to the subtly flavored coconut pilaf. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for Whats on the Menu? Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 04, 2015

Loved this! I halved the raisins and went heavy on the cashews :) I must have had particularily potent coconut milk because the flavour was spot on for me. Made for ZWT7 (The Hot Pink Ladies)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinV June 30, 2011

Loved the raisins, cashews, and coconut in this rice dish. I feel like I was an island somewhere in the Pacific, and it was so nice. I would of never thought about making rice like this, and it was so tasty, I might put stock in basmati rice! Lovely, and thanks for posting! Made for ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 23, 2011

Wonderful rice dish! We loved the cashews, in fact I added closer to a cup of them. They added such a nice flavor and texture. After reading some other reviews, I added about 1/4 teaspoon of coconut extract for a more pronounced coconut flavor. Served with Chicken Curry With Mango #383741. We eat a lot of curries and will use this rice recipe again! ZWT7 - Shady Ladies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie June 20, 2011

I made this to go with Sweet Soy-Glazed Chicken Wings. It was a great side along with a tossed salad for a wonderful dinner. I used regular raisins because that's what I had. The coconut flavor wasn't as strong as I expected but I did know it was there. I loved the onions in this and the cashews provided a nice taste and crunchy texture. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7-Pacific Islands.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 20, 2011

We love this coconut rice very much! Perfect with teryaki chicken! This recipe can be recommended.
Thanks a lot for posting this recipe.
Done for ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde June 17, 2011

Totally yummy! DH asked what type of rice I was making and I told him "just rice". I did that because he can sometimes decide in advance that he doesn't like something. Yes, I have a 7 year old 60 year old. ;)
I had expected a heavier taste of coconut which would have been fine by me but less so for him. The resulting dish was very subtle in the coconut flavour and was all around delightful. DH now knows it was coconut rice and has decided that he really likes it! lol.

I had the leftovers today for lunch. I fried some more onions until crispy, softly scrambled an egg and added slivers of left over pork. That was awesome too. Thanks so much for post!
Made for Food.Commandos ~ ZWT 7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned June 15, 2011

I really like basmati rice, so I knew I would enjoy this recipe. I served it with baked salmon. I used almonds like another reviewer mentioned (since that%u2019s all I hand on hand), but I think the cashews would have been the perfect nutty touch for this particular rice dish. The golden raisins gave it a natural sweetness that didn%u2019t really overpower the dish, but meshed quite nicely with the earthy qualities of the basmati. Thank you, FloridaNative. Made for ZWT7, Mischief Makers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 15, 2011

Loved it...a lot. I made the rice the day before I wanted to serve it as suggested in the instructions, which made it soooo convenient. Especially since I served it on New Years Eve. Adding the remaining ingredients was just too simple. Loved the flavour and it's very colourful. I used long grain rice as I didn't have Basmati, and went with dried cranberries (unsweetened) and slivered almonds. I also coarsely chopped my onions instead of diced (personal preference) This is a real gem of a recipe, that will be made many times over. Thanks FN. Not only for the recipe, but also for hosting the 2010 Secret Santa Swap. I had a blast. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 January 03, 2011

I loved this so much that I even find the leftovers delicious cold (it is breakfast time, ask me how I know). For personal and family preference, I used Indian brown basmati rice, and substituted roughly chopped roasted almonds and dried cranberries for the raisins and cashews. I am confident that it would have been equally delicious using raisins and cashews. This recipe makes quite a large amount, and I plan to add some cooked chicken to make a rice salad for lunch (if there is any left by lunchtime).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo February 28, 2009
Coconut Basmati Rice Pilaf