Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Basmati Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Basmati Rice

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2012

      I've been saving this recipe for a long time since I love the flavor of coconut milk. The recipe turned out fine...light and fluffy yellow rice. But I was expecting a lot more coconut milk flavor and even the cinnamon was barely perceptible. Maybe it's because I used light coconut milk...but I was expecting more from this recipe. Not bad, just nothing to make it memorable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This was yummy. We used lite coconut milk and I added hot pepper flakes instead of the cinnamon and raisins. The rice was sweet and hot at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Since getting into Thai cooking, I have made this recipe exactly the way it is written numerous times. Rave reviews from guests every time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This was super easy to make in the microwave. I kept the same water to coconut milk ratio, currants, and not having any cinnamon sticks threw a little ground cinnamon in with the rest of the ingredients and zapped it for 18 minutes. The currants plumped up beautifully. Very nice,and I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      I really love this recipe because it's so flavorful and unique. It's not one of my favorite recipes, but it's something I always enjoy very much. It's also an excellent way to use up leftover coconut milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Wonderful! Not overpowering spices, just perfect. I used lite coconut milk. This is certainly a "keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      I used currants, but wanted a whole lot more of them. I recommend using an entire jar of currant jam to the recipe and try low fat coconut milk, as the saturated fat is very, very high in this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!!! I can't believe how easy it was to make, and soo delicious, a meal on its own with all the ingredients! Thank you so much for this great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      Great idea for rice. I left out the turmeric, raisins and cinnamon but the dish tasted great without them. I added a bit more water as well to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      Extremely good. I left out the turmeric to give it a sweeter taste. Wonderful aroma too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2004

      I liked this so very much. I didn't have raisins in the house. It was just lovely! Definately will make this often. Thanks Tali for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      Super easy and a wonderful variation on the rice theme. A popular way of preparing rice in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Basmati Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.8
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    26%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 207.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites