12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been saving this recipe for a long time since I love the flavor of coconut milk. The recipe turned out fine...light and fluffy yellow rice. But I was expecting a lot more coconut milk flavor and even the cinnamon was barely perceptible. Maybe it's because I used light coconut milk...but I was expecting more from this recipe. Not bad, just nothing to make it memorable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 May 14, 2012

This was yummy. We used lite coconut milk and I added hot pepper flakes instead of the cinnamon and raisins. The rice was sweet and hot at the same time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurietheLibrarian June 29, 2010

Since getting into Thai cooking, I have made this recipe exactly the way it is written numerous times. Rave reviews from guests every time. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keeney March 29, 2010

This was super easy to make in the microwave. I kept the same water to coconut milk ratio, currants, and not having any cinnamon sticks threw a little ground cinnamon in with the rest of the ingredients and zapped it for 18 minutes. The currants plumped up beautifully. Very nice,and I'll make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz December 14, 2007

I really love this recipe because it's so flavorful and unique. It's not one of my favorite recipes, but it's something I always enjoy very much. It's also an excellent way to use up leftover coconut milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
death_by_parsnip October 20, 2006

Wonderful! Not overpowering spices, just perfect. I used lite coconut milk. This is certainly a "keeper".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon777 January 30, 2006

I used currants, but wanted a whole lot more of them. I recommend using an entire jar of currant jam to the recipe and try low fat coconut milk, as the saturated fat is very, very high in this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betty Spin January 18, 2006

YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!!! I can't believe how easy it was to make, and soo delicious, a meal on its own with all the ingredients! Thank you so much for this great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ji-hee.lee August 27, 2005

Great idea for rice. I left out the turmeric, raisins and cinnamon but the dish tasted great without them. I added a bit more water as well to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Rhiannon August 22, 2005

Extremely good. I left out the turmeric to give it a sweeter taste. Wonderful aroma too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dommie's mom May 31, 2005
Coconut Basmati Rice