Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Basmati Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Basmati Rice

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2010

      Lovely rice. Loved the color the turmeric gave it and all the flavor. Served it with Curry Chicken with Coconut and Peanuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Perfect! I made this to go with Curry Chicken with Coconut and Peanuts and it was perfect!!! The raisins really made this dish WOW :) My 18 month old loved picking them out, so next time I'll probably double the raisins. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This went very well with my buttered chicken recipe! I would add more coconut milk next time, as this was more subtle, but it was a pretty color and perfect texture. Thanks very much for this simple and yummy recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      This basmati rice went really well with Curry Chicken with Coconut and Peanuts (Curry chicken with coconut and peanuts). The currant raisins gave it a nice twist. I had to add water a couple of times so it doesn't dry up. I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Really good recipe, great accompaniment to a curried chicken main dish. My guests loved it. I didn't have coconut mikl, so I used whole milk. I also used a scant tsp of salt, because I thought 1/4 was too little, the extra seemed the right amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This was perfect. Just the right richness and mild flavor to act as a foil to the demonic vindaloo I'm working on, which should be posted after a little more self experimentation. I added 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes to this when the spices went in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      We loved this and will make it again soon. Used @1/2 tsp salt. and a dash of lime infused hot sauce in the cooking liquid. Had no dried chiles on hand. It looked beautiful on the plate with chicken, shrimp kabobs and grilled veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      I liked this rice but it didn't have as much flavor as I expected. It was good but I don't think I will make it again as I don't usually have coconut milk on hand. It was great to find a recipe for which I could use the one can of coconut milk that ended up at my house, though. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I liked this dish. I used the suggestion of boiling and turning off which worked very well. I gave my rice a couple of rinses but it was quite sticky in the pan. Next time I will wash until the water runs clear and cook. My only complaints were it wasn't coconutty enough for me and I got fed up of picking bits of cinnamon stick out of my mouth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      We also tried this rice with the Curry Chicken #37139 dish and thought it was a perfect match! It reminded us of something found in a high class Asian Restaurant. I used the suggestion to bring the rice to a boil for 5 minutes or so and then remove from heat... it turned out excellent! I doubled the recipe to feed 6 and had NO LEFTOVERS!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      This is an absolutely amazing rice dish! I agree with Miss Wombat and bring the mixture to a boil and turn off the heat, leaving the rice for 30 minutes or more. i serve this rice with Curry Chicken with Coconut and Peanuts #37139 and it's fantastic! Everyone loves the combination, I highly suggest you try it at home, you'll never make another curry again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      Warning: the servings for this are of the strict half cup size variety. In real life, this was barely enough for the three of us. While the rice tasted good, it turned out much gluggier than I expected especially since there is a very similar recipe in the Moosewood cookbooks. I much prefer the drier recipe. I certainly would not simmer the rice for 15 minutes - I had to stop early to prevent burning - and would just put a lid on the pot, turn off the heat and leave it for 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Basmati Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.6
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    26%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 155.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes