30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are good and super easy to make. I cooked mine for 28 minutes and they were a little over done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
secretcook February 25, 2012

Ok so I am an obsessive baker and usually adore working for hours on a meal's grand finale... however... today I was not at all up for that! I was feeling sad because I figured any "quick" recipe would end up lacking in flavor and finesse... until I stumbled upon this recipe. This must be the easiest, quickest, and most convenient dessert I've ever made that really delivers on taste and presentation. I did as others suggested, and upon taking it out of the oven, sprinkled semi-sweet chocolate chips over it. I cut up the bars, allowed them to cool slightly, then carefully removed each square with an appropriately sized spatula. I placed them on a fancy cake plate, sprinkled with some toasted coconut and voila! Dessert is beautiful, delicious, and... DONE!!! Thanks for a fabulous recipe! I'm looking forward to playing around with different additions (nuts, candies, etc...)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dans La Lune November 18, 2011

Wow these are amazing!! Deliciously chewy and caramelly/butterscotchy. 3/4c milk chocolate buttons mixed through were delish. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Runnerr May 22, 2011

These bars were super duper GOOD and the recipe was so simple! Next time I will add chocolate chips...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocoholic18 January 08, 2011

Heavenly. I just took them out of the oven 10 minutes ago and 1/2 the pan is already gone. They kinda want to fall apart while warm but even so, they are delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella Rachelle June 07, 2010

OMG! These should be outlawed. I am expecting company this weekend and wanted to make something that they would all enjoy. Too bad I did quality control (tasted 1). I will have to keep them in the freezer until just before they arrive and hope that I can keep out of them until then.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Mary April 28, 2010

My husband loved these. He said, they tasted like an old fashioned brown sugar pie with coconut. I used a 9 x 13 inch pan, cut them when warm, and removed from the pan when cool. I had never tasted a bar like this. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby March 14, 2010

Okay, I'm not a coconut fan but my husband is so tried this recipe. I followed the recipe as is and the bars came out chewy and surprisingly good (for me). I especially like the corners because they have that extra crunch. With a glass of milk...perfect dessert or snack. I actually used an icing spreader to take the bars out of the dish because of its flexibility and it came out fine. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmorg423 July 28, 2009

I have upgraded the rating from 3 stars to five, for two reasons. Firstly, my family have decided they do like the bars after all, and one daughter even said, "You should have given them 10,000 stars!" Secondly, while the first batch was in the oven, I prepared a second batch for my husband's co-workers. He came home tonight, and said that the bars had rave reviews all day, and the whole batch was gone! So, five stars all round, and I think that next time, the addition of coconut extract will take the taste over the top. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit May 28, 2009
Coconut Bars