Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut Bars

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2001

      I thought these bars were delicious. I did have trouble removing them from the pan. They tended to crumble while they were still warm. I ended up letting them cool over night-they did much better. I would definitely fix these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2002

      This recipe I would definitely recommend to anyone who loves coconut. They are moist, chewy, delightful, gratifying and I must say adictive. My family gobbled 'em up instantly. It was also very quick and easy to make. Do try it...You won't be sorry! One more thing, it didn't seem like there was going to be enough dough to spread over a large cake pan so I used a smaller one. It really surprizes you how much it rises. Next time I will use larger pan as instructed in recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2001

      Made them and they are great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      These bars are just fantastic! They are so easy, I just melted the butter in the bowl in the microwave, added the rest of the ingredients, and poured them in the pan. Perfect! I found them perfect for a middle of the night sweet craving, as they were done in no time. My husband, who claims that he does not like coconut ate over half of the pan... before I even had a chance to tell them they were coconut bars. :) He said that they were deeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      These were very good! Different too. Many other posters said they might try chocolate chips next time, so I used them from the start. After pulling the bars out of the oven I sprinkled about 3/4 of a cup of chips on top. I waited about five minutes for the chips to melt then spread them across the top. Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Yummy, yummy!! These are perfect for me as written. My hubby likes the addition of chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I know these are a 5 star recipe when I walk into the kitchen to find the husband standing over the sink and about 1/3 of the pan gone when it had previously been full! I think he mumbled these are amazing, either that or he growled at me, I can't be certain. They were SO easy to make I will be doing them often. I might try almond extract along with the vanilla next time to see how that goes, but maybe I better not. I might get growled at again by DH for messing with something he obviously thoroughly enjoyed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      These were delicious...I subbed almond extract instead of vanilla, otherwise I followed the directions exactly. I will agree with the previous reviewer, the batter does rise a lot, so be sure to use a big enough pan. These were chewy, not too sweet despite the 2 cups of sugar, and perfect for when I just feel like doing some baking, but I'm not sure what I want. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Excellent recipe. I was looking for something that only used a few ingredients since the cupboards were bare.Husband brought the batch to work and everyone was impressed,so definitely will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      made these with the suggested addition of choc chips..very moist and yummy...oh and i didnt have any butter so i make them with crisco and 2 tablespoons water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      These are good and super easy to make. I cooked mine for 28 minutes and they were a little over done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2011

      Ok so I am an obsessive baker and usually adore working for hours on a meal's grand finale... however... today I was not at all up for that! I was feeling sad because I figured any "quick" recipe would end up lacking in flavor and finesse... until I stumbled upon this recipe. This must be the easiest, quickest, and most convenient dessert I've ever made that really delivers on taste and presentation. I did as others suggested, and upon taking it out of the oven, sprinkled semi-sweet chocolate chips over it. I cut up the bars, allowed them to cool slightly, then carefully removed each square with an appropriately sized spatula. I placed them on a fancy cake plate, sprinkled with some toasted coconut and voila! Dessert is beautiful, delicious, and... DONE!!! Thanks for a fabulous recipe! I'm looking forward to playing around with different additions (nuts, candies, etc...)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Wow these are amazing!! Deliciously chewy and caramelly/butterscotchy. 3/4c milk chocolate buttons mixed through were delish. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      These bars were super duper GOOD and the recipe was so simple! Next time I will add chocolate chips...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Heavenly. I just took them out of the oven 10 minutes ago and 1/2 the pan is already gone. They kinda want to fall apart while warm but even so, they are delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

    • on April 28, 2010

      OMG! These should be outlawed. I am expecting company this weekend and wanted to make something that they would all enjoy. Too bad I did quality control (tasted 1). I will have to keep them in the freezer until just before they arrive and hope that I can keep out of them until then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      My husband loved these. He said, they tasted like an old fashioned brown sugar pie with coconut. I used a 9 x 13 inch pan, cut them when warm, and removed from the pan when cool. I had never tasted a bar like this. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Okay, I'm not a coconut fan but my husband is so tried this recipe. I followed the recipe as is and the bars came out chewy and surprisingly good (for me). I especially like the corners because they have that extra crunch. With a glass of milk...perfect dessert or snack. I actually used an icing spreader to take the bars out of the dish because of its flexibility and it came out fine. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I have upgraded the rating from 3 stars to five, for two reasons. Firstly, my family have decided they do like the bars after all, and one daughter even said, "You should have given them 10,000 stars!" Secondly, while the first batch was in the oven, I prepared a second batch for my husband's co-workers. He came home tonight, and said that the bars had rave reviews all day, and the whole batch was gone! So, five stars all round, and I think that next time, the addition of coconut extract will take the taste over the top. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 494.5
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    42%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 77.0 mg
    25%
    Sodium 231.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.1 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 54.7 g
    219%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes