30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought these bars were delicious. I did have trouble removing them from the pan. They tended to crumble while they were still warm. I ended up letting them cool over night-they did much better. I would definitely fix these again.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth December 14, 2001

This recipe I would definitely recommend to anyone who loves coconut. They are moist, chewy, delightful, gratifying and I must say adictive. My family gobbled 'em up instantly. It was also very quick and easy to make. Do try it...You won't be sorry! One more thing, it didn't seem like there was going to be enough dough to spread over a large cake pan so I used a smaller one. It really surprizes you how much it rises. Next time I will use larger pan as instructed in recipe.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DustyPenny May 29, 2002

Made them and they are great.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don B. December 04, 2001

These bars are just fantastic! They are so easy, I just melted the butter in the bowl in the microwave, added the rest of the ingredients, and poured them in the pan. Perfect! I found them perfect for a middle of the night sweet craving, as they were done in no time. My husband, who claims that he does not like coconut ate over half of the pan... before I even had a chance to tell them they were coconut bars. :) He said that they were deeeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choppie1 January 19, 2011

These were very good! Different too. Many other posters said they might try chocolate chips next time, so I used them from the start. After pulling the bars out of the oven I sprinkled about 3/4 of a cup of chips on top. I waited about five minutes for the chips to melt then spread them across the top. Very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Bean February 25, 2011

Yummy, yummy!! These are perfect for me as written. My hubby likes the addition of chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortstuff June 29, 2010

I know these are a 5 star recipe when I walk into the kitchen to find the husband standing over the sink and about 1/3 of the pan gone when it had previously been full! I think he mumbled these are amazing, either that or he growled at me, I can't be certain. They were SO easy to make I will be doing them often. I might try almond extract along with the vanilla next time to see how that goes, but maybe I better not. I might get growled at again by DH for messing with something he obviously thoroughly enjoyed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. April 27, 2010

These were delicious...I subbed almond extract instead of vanilla, otherwise I followed the directions exactly. I will agree with the previous reviewer, the batter does rise a lot, so be sure to use a big enough pan. These were chewy, not too sweet despite the 2 cups of sugar, and perfect for when I just feel like doing some baking, but I'm not sure what I want. Perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali March 11, 2009

Excellent recipe. I was looking for something that only used a few ingredients since the cupboards were bare.Husband brought the batch to work and everyone was impressed,so definitely will be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strangelittlebeast February 06, 2014

made these with the suggested addition of choc chips..very moist and yummy...oh and i didnt have any butter so i make them with crisco and 2 tablespoons water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbaugie June 18, 2012
Coconut Bars