Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coconut (Almond) Joys Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coconut (Almond) Joys

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2003

      So excellent! I've been searching for this recipe for several Christmas' now. I used to make these every year because I love these things. I never thought of doing the nut half but it works really well - I like it. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      These were good. I used the little muffin cups, makes them shape up nicely. Next time I think I will use the milk chocolate instead of the semi-sweet to give them a real creamy chocolaty flavor. I might also cut down on the butter a bit, but I'm not sure if they would hold together as well. For coconut fans this is it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2004

      I added about 1/2 t. almond extract-they seemed a little plain. They tasted awesome, my kids are making a second batch as we speak (10:00 pm on a school night). I put them in cupcake tins with melted chocolate in the bottom. I am going to make them in mini cupcake papers for Christmas trays. Thanks a lot!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      Wow! These were so easy & so delicious! I made them for my Christmas trays & everyone went crazy over them. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe - absolutely perfect as it is!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      Thank you Karen! I just put the second batch of these into the container in the refrigerator! These are going to be the hit of my goodie trays! DH & DD2 taste tested and gave "two thumbs up!". So good and so easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      These were FANTASTIC...I am a huge almond joy fan and I thought they tasted like the real thing,just maybe not as creamy but a cinch to whip up.It's a keeper!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Oh, thank you!!! these are FANTASTIC! They taste great, they're super easy, and they are really cute! I'm "math-challenged" so I am going to post this for anybody else who struggles with cutting a recipe down: After I made one batch, I had lots of leftover ingredients but not enough for one more entire batch. The next step down was 2 C. coconut, 1-1/3 C. Confectioner's Sugar and 1/3 C butter. (I used MORE chocolate to begin with, so I actually melted about 5 ounces and used most of it up.) I have just eaten two and I'm not sure how I'm going to keep myself away from these so they can safely make it to the holiday cookie/candy swap they were intended for! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Almond joy is one of my favourites so I had to try these. I didn`t have any almonds but still couldn`t wait to try them anyways. So, I added about a half tsp of almond extract instead. I did find that the balls were hard to form until I refrigerated the mixture for about 15-20 minutes. I also took the advice of others and added shortening to the chocolate. These will be going on my Xmas trays for sure. Absolutely delicious Karen, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Delicious! I love almond joys and these were just like them. I used a whole almond in the center, rolled them fairly small and dipped in chocolate almond bark. Delicious. I don't think I'm going to wait for the holidays to make these again.....Thank you for a great addition to our holiday trays......Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      They are very, very good - my Christmas baking now seems complete with these little morsels. I did add some butter (about a 1 tsp) with the chocolate chips to keep the chocolate shiny - no other changes. Thank you so much Karen for a simple, delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      These were so easy and so good! It works best to make them small enough to be able to just pop them in your mouth. The only change I made was to add a little shortning to the chips when melting and I used a whole almond. Then to fancy them up a bit I drizzled the chocolate back and forth over each one. They were a favorite of everyones. I will be making these every year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      We have been making these delicious little confection for decades. It's a family favorite. One tip: to make filling the centers with chocolate easier, use either a squirt bottle (preferable) or a a baby spoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coconut (Almond) Joys

    Serving Size: 1 (690 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.9
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    54%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 6.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 38.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    42%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites