6 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Effortless and superb. The chocolate taste was intense even with milk chocolate chips. The maple syrup gilded the lily; certainly no butter was needed. Two pancakes were plenty for me; DH was stuffed with 4 pancakes. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will be sure to serve these to overnight guests. Made for Veg'n Swap 13.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL May 31, 2011

What a winner of a recipe! Loved these and so did my sis! :) They have an intense chocolate flavour and are sooooooo moreish! YUM!
The batter is thin, but makes for soft and fluffy pancakes that can be rolled to hold fillings, too. I think banana would be the perfect match.
I used half carob powder as I dont like the taste of cocoa powder that much and since thats all I had I used a vanilla rice milk. It worked out beautifully.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, WICC!
Made and reviewed for Adopt a Veggie Tag January 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 23, 2011

Yum! I made ours differently to be healthier but stuck to the basic idea. I had pancake mix already mixed up in the refrigerator from the day before. I just added alcohol free vanilla and cocao powder instead of cocoa powder as that is what I had on hand. I used Enjoy Life chocolate chips which are soy free. Served them with organic unhomogenised yogurt, sliced organic banana and home-made chocolate sauce made by melting chocolate chips on a low temperature and adding a little water after melted and stirring until smooth. Made for Veggie Swap # 57 ~ April 2013 ~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 29, 2013

AWESOME! Light and fluffy. Prefect for a fun meal or desert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooknRN December 28, 2011

Made these lovely pancakes over the weekend for my children, who loved them. Very simple and quick recipe, I just threw together half the batch and had to leave out the choco chips since I didn't have any....I bet this would be 10 stars with them! Thanks for sharing WICC - I'm sure I'll be making these often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner July 06, 2010

Although I don't do chocolate pancakes (or waffles) often, I do enjoy trying new recipes for them, hence this tag! So glad I did, too, 'cause these make for a great tasting breakfast (or pancake supper, as the case might be)! Followed the recipe right on down & am most happy to share this great recipe with my vegetarian son & his wife! A very nice meal for chocoholics like me ~ Thanks for the great keeper! [Tagged & reviewed as a recipenap in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap 16]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 19, 2009
Cocoa Pancakes