Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cocoa Oatmeal Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cocoa Oatmeal Muffins

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2012

      I tried these tonight, following the recipe (though next time I'll substitute apple sauce in for the margerine I used). I also added a tsp of cinnamon, and a 1/4 tsp of each: ginger, cloves, nutmeg and then added trail mix that has nuts, sunflower seeds and currents (I crushed the nuts so that they're not an "offensive" texture in the middle of the muffin). Happy to say they're delish! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      We also found this recipe from Robin Hood; they've been a favourite for awhile! We substitute the butter with applesauce for a treat. I'm going to try Sweet Cinnamon's idea of using yogurt in place of butter next time. Sounds yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      I veganized these... used egg replacer for the 2 eggs, soymilk and earth balance. I was worried about the batter being really liquid so I added 1/2 cup more oats, but like the reviewers said these baked up fine and I don't think I needed the extra oats. I did end up with 15 muffins instead of 12 though.... anyways, they were delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      I made these pretty much as stated -- did use a bit less sugar and left out the nuts. The batter is quite liquidy, but cooks up fine. Excellent texture and good light flavor. Next time will add either chocolate chips, raisins or dried cranberries to give a little more interest to the muffin. We're all so spoiled with the choices these days!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I made these muffins tonight and they turned out pretty nice! I subsituted plain yogurt for the butter and used half whole wheat and half white flour. I also added 2 over ripe banana's just to use them up and they added to the nice flavors. It made 15 good size muffins that taste awesome! Thanks for the recipe, I will be using it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Just made these and WOW they are really yummy. I love all the textures. I used a little less sugar (a heaping 3/4 cup) and quick oats (since it didn't specify). I chopped the walnuts pretty fine, so the kids wouldn't complain. I baked 18 minutes using pure convection. I divided into 16 muffin cups. They turned out moist inside and with a nice crust. Next time I might reduce the temp a few degrees. Definately a keeper! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Wow, these came out great! Though I did make some changes, I used whole-wheat flour, (all I had on hand.) Soymilk, (again all I had on hand!) Canola oil (once again all I had...) and omit the nuts. To my delight they turned out fluffy and just the right texture. Oh and I added some butterscotch chips too, although they sunk to the bottom! But still made them yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      These muffins are so good. A really good taste of chocolate but I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of nuts. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Perfect for us. I used vegetable oil. They cooked 17 minutes. Thanks Celine :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I found this batter very hard to work with. It was very runny and made a huge mess. The end result was good but I won't be making them again. Used chocolate milk as that was all I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      These had that nice, cocoa-y taste--not too sweet. I used slivered almonds which gave a good texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Yummy! I made some subsitutions, though: I used whole wheat flour, oat flour for the oats, Splenda for the sugar & applesauce for the butter. I also omitted the nuts & used 1/4 cup mini choc chips instead. Baking time was about 15 min. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I replaced the nuts with chocolate chips because my kids don't like nuts. They were delicious! I made a double batch, and they just disappeared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I made the mistake of using Splenda-for-baking. It's not splendid. Despite that, you can tell that these muffins have a deep cocoa flavor and a wonderful texture from the oats. Therefore, I'm giving it four stars because the recipe can't be blamed for my substitution. Looking forward to making them again with just sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cocoa Oatmeal Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.9
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    45%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 52.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 450.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 18.3 g
    73%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes