14 Reviews

I replaced the nuts with chocolate chips because my kids don't like nuts. They were delicious! I made a double batch, and they just disappeared.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zip1 December 10, 2006

Yummy! Used coconut for the nuts and came out moist. A tad salty. Made a simple chocolate butter cream frosting and these were delish. Made recipe as written-not runny as suggested by one reviewer. Would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna R. August 12, 2015

I tried these tonight, following the recipe (though next time I'll substitute apple sauce in for the margerine I used). I also added a tsp of cinnamon, and a 1/4 tsp of each: ginger, cloves, nutmeg and then added trail mix that has nuts, sunflower seeds and currents (I crushed the nuts so that they're not an "offensive" texture in the middle of the muffin). Happy to say they're delish! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelleybeanz August 12, 2012

We also found this recipe from Robin Hood; they've been a favourite for awhile! We substitute the butter with applesauce for a treat. I'm going to try Sweet Cinnamon's idea of using yogurt in place of butter next time. Sounds yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anemone October 04, 2011

I veganized these... used egg replacer for the 2 eggs, soymilk and earth balance. I was worried about the batter being really liquid so I added 1/2 cup more oats, but like the reviewers said these baked up fine and I don't think I needed the extra oats. I did end up with 15 muffins instead of 12 though.... anyways, they were delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartthecolor June 28, 2011

I made these pretty much as stated -- did use a bit less sugar and left out the nuts. The batter is quite liquidy, but cooks up fine. Excellent texture and good light flavor. Next time will add either chocolate chips, raisins or dried cranberries to give a little more interest to the muffin. We're all so spoiled with the choices these days!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook January 30, 2009

I made these muffins tonight and they turned out pretty nice! I subsituted plain yogurt for the butter and used half whole wheat and half white flour. I also added 2 over ripe banana's just to use them up and they added to the nice flavors. It made 15 good size muffins that taste awesome! Thanks for the recipe, I will be using it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Cinnamon September 07, 2008

Just made these and WOW they are really yummy. I love all the textures. I used a little less sugar (a heaping 3/4 cup) and quick oats (since it didn't specify). I chopped the walnuts pretty fine, so the kids wouldn't complain. I baked 18 minutes using pure convection. I divided into 16 muffin cups. They turned out moist inside and with a nice crust. Next time I might reduce the temp a few degrees. Definately a keeper! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaCooks April 26, 2008

Wow, these came out great! Though I did make some changes, I used whole-wheat flour, (all I had on hand.) Soymilk, (again all I had on hand!) Canola oil (once again all I had...) and omit the nuts. To my delight they turned out fluffy and just the right texture. Oh and I added some butterscotch chips too, although they sunk to the bottom! But still made them yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TornByPastry April 10, 2008

These muffins are so good. A really good taste of chocolate but I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of nuts. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Perfect for us. I used vegetable oil. They cooked 17 minutes. Thanks Celine :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 27, 2008
Cocoa Oatmeal Muffins