8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was going to complain that the cook time in step 1 was too long then I see that it was supposed to be MEDIUM power. Oops. I did it full power and didn't watch it. Part had boiled out of the cup by the time I got to it. I made this as written and found it the right mix of sweet and rich. Sad that it takes that much sugar to get the effect though!
I like to make my own mixes so at some point I will try mixing it with powdered milk to see if it still tastes as good. Some cinnamon would also make a good addition!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker February 09, 2011

Perfect, so easy! It worked out very nicely and the cocoa was creamy, rich and delicious. Mmmm!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful and versatile recipe with us, ellie_!
Made and reviewed for PRMR Tag Game February 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 07, 2011

This is, to me, a perfect cup of hot cocoa! Easy, fast & yummy. I used 1 1/2 tbsp of Splenda for the sugar, skim milk & since I seem to have a good micro--needed under 2 min total for the whole recipe. I hate those sugar free/fat free cocoa mixes--they just don't taste good at all!! This was great cuz it wasn't too sweet or fattening. Thank u so much for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS January 12, 2010

A quick and tasty treat. Made using 1% milk and Splenda. Thanks so much for such a yummy post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 22, 2009

yes our marshmallows are that big LOL ! This is a wonderful recipe for cocoa... rich and deep in flavour and I could have happily made 3 cups and drunk all of them LOL! That's a good sign of an excellent recipe and this is one that I will be saving and adding to my list of winter treats. Please see my Rating System: 5 excellent stars for a smooth relaxing recipe where the mix is not too sweet but just right. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch February 26, 2009

This made a very nice cup of cocoa -- and a mess. I cheerfully recommend this for folks who know their microwave oven well, but suggest you keep the power level down and take care not to boil the first mixture! Made for Comfort Cafe event, Jan. 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn January 29, 2009

Just finished shoveling a lot of snow and was frozen - your cocoa hit the spot!! It was fast, sweet and chocolatey!! Used low fat milk and less sugar. Thanks ellie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie January 16, 2007

Very quick and tasty, although next time I think I'll reduce the sugar a bit. I didn't really measure the water, just added enough to make a slurry of the cocoa and sugar. Then when that was hot I filled the mug with milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell January 08, 2007
Cocoa (Microwave)