13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This had a pretty good flavor. Unfortunately, it was a bit dry. Thanks for sharing, but I doubt I'll make it again....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom September 18, 2009

T'is the season for honey cake and this is the winner this year as far as I and my family are concerned - the chocolate adds a nice edge to the honey. I baked it at 350 F, and shut off the oven after 50 minutes leaving the cake inside because it was not yet all done (toothpick test). It turned into a beautiful, irresistible loaf.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fayz September 21, 2006

Im very sorry but I have to give this a bad review.....I hate doing this. The cake took like 70 mins to be fully baked, and by then, the top was burnt and rock hard. My oven thermometer showed that there was no problem with the temperature....I managed to salvage about half the cake. There is an extremely strong honey taste, hardly any cocoa taste at all. Once again, im very sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunasushi July 14, 2006

We loved that there was a bit of cocoa in this cake, which gave it a little chocolate taste. The inside was soft and it had wonderfully crunchy edges. However, the almond slices on the top were what made this loaf turn out beautiful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phaidria November 02, 2008

This was nice. Not too overpowering, not too sweet or too chocolatey...just a nice little loaf cake to eat with tea or coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E-Eva November 04, 2007

This is a quick and simple cake to make, with a nice taste. It is not too sweet and has a soft texture. Mine took a little longer to bake. I think about 65 minutes, but it might be because I'm cooking with gas. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- January 12, 2006

Very nice. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience November 06, 2005

I really liked this! I liked the honey taste over jsut sugar alone! i never thought to have chocolate and honey together. I used apple cider for the juice, on an apple kick right now. I also added vanilla and butter nut flavorings. All the flavors made an interesting and nice little snack cake! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K November 05, 2005

This was good, but personally I don't prefer the taste of the cocoa and honey together in this, but it still was a tasty way to experiment nevertheless. My husband quite liked it with his coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood October 20, 2005
Cocoa Honey Cake