Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cocoa Granola Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cocoa Granola Bars

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2010

      We loved them! I omitted the white chocolate chips, and I'm glad I did because then they would have been too sweet. I added some cranberries as well. Thank you for posting, I will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      These are great bars! I used Chocolate Cheerio's and they turned out great. Added flax and cranberries. Will try to reduce the corn syrup next time... maybe plain cheerios or rice krispies...but kids love this recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      A hit with the whole family. Only change I made was adding a bit of toasted wheat germ. Froze half of them so that in a pinch, I would have treats for my grandson. For me they were too sweet and next time I will eliminate or half the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I made these to use up some stuff...yummy. I changed them quite a lot, but am very happy with the results. I had Cookie Crunch cereal, and some left over Honey Cheerios, and old fashioned oats. Skipped the chocolate chips, and the brown sugar. Instead added 1/4 c. ground flax seed, and 1/4 c. finely chopped almonds. I used homemade corn syrup, and almond butter instead of peanut butter. I do think these are really sweet, and would be far to rich with the added sugar...next time I may add protein powder, but I didn't know how my nephews would feel about that. As it is they loved these and my toddlers were trying to use the drawers in the kitchen as steps to reach them...that was a new developement for my daughter...not my son.;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Great recipe. Didn't have white chocolate chips, used semi sweet. It was great would change a thing. Kiddos loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Very tasty (similar to my granola ball recipe). A couple tips: 1. make sure the syrup mixure has almost cooled completely when you mix it into the cereal, otherwise the chocolate chips will melt. 2. Regular rice krispies would work fine because the main flavor here is peanut butter. 3. Flax seeds worked nicely and added nutrition. 4. Line your pan in wax paper, then pour in the cereal mix and then use another piece of greased wax paper to press the mix into the pan. 5. After cooled (may take up to 2 hours), lift the granola out of the pan with the wax paper, place on countertop and cut into bars using a pizza cutter. I will be freezing half of this batch and will surely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I decided to make this recipe because it sounded good; what I wasn't expecting was to be thrilled with the results -- these are seriously the best granola bars I've ever eaten! I used all the ingredients listed, including the Cocoa Krispies, but went on to add about 1/8 c. of both flax meal and protein powder to the dry ingredients. I couldn't taste the healthier ingredients -- these are so chewy and delicious and like a dessert. Since these are way better than any bar I've found in a box/pkg., it's absolutely worth it to put them together at home. Also you end up with 15 good sized bars and you can control what goes in. Thank you, karenbear, for what is now one of my favorite recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      My oldest daughter said it was a definate 5 stars! I also didn't have any cocoa krispie so I used Rice Krispies and sprinkled cocoa on them. Will be keeping the recipe! Thanks Karenbear!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      looks fairly easy and at the same time yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      WOW!! We loved these! I used plain Rice Krispies, but added some cocoa to them and it worked out so well. My DD doesn't really like rice krispies, but she does in this recipe! These are terrific for those mornings when we are running late or for an after School snack. Also, I love these as opposed to buying granola bars as I know exactly what is in them! Made for PAC Spring 2007!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Oooh, ooooh, oooh! These are just about the BEST granola bars I've ever eaten in my life--I'd give your recipe 10-stars if I could! My DH takes our three kids & nieces & nephews canoe-camping every summer, plus we're heavily involved with swim team and 4-H--so lots of fundraisers--these will DEFINITELY become a GREAT addition to my KEEPER FILE! I used dark corn syrup (it's what I had on hand), but followed everything else as written with OUTSTANDING results. Will wrap up the rest and HIDE THEM right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      Your granola bars were picked by me for Tag just yesterday. I happened to have all of the ingredients on hand and made them this morning. I was so anxious for the hour to be up to taste them and believe me they were worth the wait. So easy to make and so very good! Before I ended up eating the entire pan by myself, I did like you suggested and wrapped 3/4 of them in waxed paper and froze them. Now, I will have some treats already made for when my precious grandchildren come to visit. Thanks Karenbear, you have a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cocoa Granola Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (976 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.6
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    27%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 1.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 86.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 26.9 g
    107%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes