Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cocoa Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cocoa Brownies

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2011

      good brownie with ingredients that you always find in your cuppboard

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      I've been searching for years for that perfect brownie-from-scratch recipe. (You know the one, the kind that is in between fudgy and cakey with the shiny brown top that slightly crackles when you bite into it). And there is nothing to say about this brownie other than: THIS IS IT. Perfection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      I followed the mixing directions exactly, the batter is almost like mayonnaise if you beat it right. As soon as the edges came away from the sides of the pan I took them out of the oven, varies between 21 and 24 minutes. They are chewy and fudgy. Family loved them. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      These were great! I put toasted slivered almonds on top as I took it out of the oven. I put a big dent in them already. I better put them away-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      this satisfies my pregnant mama gotta have chocolate cravings every time!! I automatically added a little milk thanks to the comments =) Winner !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      These were really good! I swirled in some peanut butter as well <3 yum and SO easy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Worked great for me! I also found the batter a little dry, so added 2 tablespoons coffee (and sprinkled the top with pecans and chocolate chips... mmmmm...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I am sorry to say I didn't love these. I guess I was expecting a stronger brownie flavor, as I am used to the box mixes. This tasted heavily of cocoa powder and while everyone else said they were okay they didn't do it for me. Thanks for the recipe anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Here's what makes these brownies great...the fact that they are EASY and FAST and many ingredients can be substituted to make this, actually, almost healthy. For example: I used 1/2 of the oil as olive oil and one half as applesause, as suggested by another poster. Don't think anyone would notice this at all. Used slightly less sugar...I just didn't fill the cups up all the way so I couldn't say how much less I used, but it was neglible, I'm sure. Used 90% whole wheat flour with the other 10% of the flour being spelt flour. All organic. Did not add nuts. The brownies cooked fast in a gentle heat, were farily easy to tell when done (no jiggling middle) but not overcooked, and did have a very "fudgy" texture as everyone promised. Oh, and I didn't have to add any milk or other liquid to the batter. Maybe because I used applesause for part of the oil? Anyways the consistancy was JUST RIGHT! Cut up very nicely, even when hot. Really brownie-esque presentation as well. Here is why the recipe DID NOT work for me: The taste was WAAAAY lacking. It tasted very very bland. The chocolate didn't "pop" (though it likely would have with the addition of cinnamon or clove or, of course, a very fudgy icing or maybe powdered sugar. And I didn't use either) and the taste was even worse hot. Cooled down, there were some subleties there, but it reminded me of eating playdough a bit. Not a ton. But a bit. It's THE PERFECT recipe for a bunch of friends or college kids wanting a "sleep over snack" (when made a bit healthier, though) and can definately be jazzed up, but as is...well, it just does not stand on it's own so well. It can do it. But not well. Also, there wasn't much of a smell. All that being said... IF I were having a horrible chocolate craving and IF I didn't have much in the pantry and/or was short on time and IF I had something to top them with then I would make these again. But IF I wanted a really tasty brownie that was worth writing home about... Well... anything's good with icing, right? :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      Very good brownies! I used one cup of Splenda and 1/3 cup of sugar. I too used half whole wheat pastry flour and half all-purpose flour. The recipe was easy to follow and we had good tasting brownies in a short while. Great with a cup of coffee! Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      I love this recipe. I tried it as is the first time. The second time, I substituted natural apple sauce for half of the oil and could tell no difference. So fudgey, so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I needed a last-minute dessert to take to an impromptu dinner party. I used olive oil instead of veg, a mix of whole wheat pastry flour and regular flour (and dropped the amount slightly), a mix of white and brown sugar, and added about a half cup of dark choc chips to the batter. Baked exactly 20 mins in convection oven in pan lined with parchment. I sprinkled powdered sugar on the top while still hot. Yum!!! (and not totally sinful, either) The brownies were a hit with everyone (much better than a store-bought dessert). The only downside was that we drank all of our host's milk (after all that chocolate taste)!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I was having a craving for chocolate and these were the perfect thing. I made them exactly as directed except I doubled the recipe and put them in a 9x13 inch pan. Because of this, I had to bake them about 5 minutes longer. They were fudgy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      These were so quick and easy, and I love the fact that it's all ingredients that I had on hand...I'm not much of a baker, so my baking supplies are usually pretty slim. But I made these tonight after a rough day and they were extremely stress-free and oh so good with an ice cold glass of milk. The only thing I did differently is to leave out the nuts as DH doesn't like them, and like another reviewer suggested, I used just a splash of milk as my mixture was really dry. Thanks for the yummy recipe and congrats on winning the foorball pool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      These came out great! Very sweet and chewy...just how we like em! I will definitally be making them again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      wonderful recipe! it was impossible to tell these were made with cocoa instead of melted baking chocolate. i added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts prior to baking and it was fab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      My friend and I got hungry in the middle of night and felt like brownies so we made your brownies!! This was really good!! I added little bit of milk when I was mixing all the ingredients, becouse it was a bit too thick to combine well. All the brownies were gone by next morning becouse we ate them all!!! Thank you for posting this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2004

      I've been looking for a brownie recipe with cocoa (not chocolate shavings) for awhile for when the cupboard is bare. This is a great one. Be forewarned - they make a pretty cake-like brownie. A little adjusting with the cooking time, etc. will make it more fudge-y.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      I simply loved them..and they're very easy to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      My family loves these brownies. They are quick and simple to make. My son loves to make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cocoa Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (711 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2876.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1116
    38%
    Total Fat 124.0 g
    190%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 729.5 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 410.4 g
    136%
    Dietary Fiber 12.2 g
    48%
    Sugars 266.7 g
    1067%
    Protein 36.7 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites