Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cocoa Banana Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cocoa Banana Muffins

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 16, 2008

      These were AMAZING! The muffins were huge and moist with a delicious chocolatey flavor. I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg, which seemed to complement the flavors well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      These are scrumptious! I halved the recipe and it still made 7 BIG muffins. Next time I will half it again and fill all 12 cups. I used 2 ripe bananas and substituted milk mixed with lemon juice for the Buttermilk. (Use 1T. lemon juice per 8oz. milk and allow to sit for a few minutes.) They turned out beautifully! I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      These muffins were delicous!!! My kids loved them and they were gone in one day. They turned out big and moist and I love the banana and chocolate together. Thank You so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      This was a great recipe!!! I didn't have regular milk or buttermilk so I used soy milk and it still turned out wonderful!!! I also only had light brown sugar but that doesn't make much of a difference. I'm going to have to hide them from my son becaus ehe has tried to eat them all! Next time I will substitute 4 egg whites for the 2 eggs to lower the calories and cholesterol even more. The chocolate and banana flavors are perfectly balanced. The recipe was very easy to follow. The recipe made 21 very large muffins and 12 mini as well. Will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      These were good but I had to try them several times to get it right! I ended up using 5 bananas, 1/2 cup brown sugar + 1/2 cup Splenda & applesauce for the oil. In the end I decided to use the full 1/2 cup cocoa although it was suggested that the amount be reduced. Great recipe but it needed some tweaking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      I tried these for the "I recommend" game based on LongHornMama's recommendation. We enjoyed them. It took 6 large (previously frozen) bananas to make the amount required. I used splenda brown sugar for baking, the amount recommended for 3/4 cup. These didn't turn out quite as sweet as I would have liked but that may have been because of the splenda. The kids loved them (which I appreciate) and I too enjoyed them. Kind of a subtle flavor with a good texture. Thanks Jenny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2005

      Fantastic!!These muffins are incredible..dark chocolately and moist. As Jenny says, they're not a cupcake in disguise, and I love that the recipe uses whole wheat flour. I used 6 very ripe black bananas and soured milk instead of commercial buttermilk. Recipe made 12 very large, batter full to the top muffins. Perfect at 21 minutes. Thanks, Jenny, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      I felt that these were more like cupcakes than muffins & a little too sweet for our breakfast tastes! Since the banana flavour was barely discernible - even though I used 4 large bananas - I would reduce the amount of cocoa and, as Cindy already suggested, cut back on the oil. Thanx Jenny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      I had high hopes for this recipe because I love chocolate and I love bananas. But something just wasn't right. I made exactly as directed but found they needed a little 'oomph' and the consistency wasn't right. Maybe a little too much oil? Overall, I'd say they were okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cocoa Banana Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1047 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.0
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    23%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 31.6 mg
    10%
    Sodium 193.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    69%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes