11 Reviews

I followed the recipe exactly and probably wouldn't use the recipe again. I used it because I was drawn to everyone's comments about it being so moist. However, the texture just wasn't the texture I was going for; it was more like a muffin than an airy, light cupcake. So although it was moist, it wasn't cake-moist, it was more muffin moist. The 1 cup smashed banana also wasn't enough to punch the cupcake with a banana taste, at least not the taste I was looking for from a "cocoa banana" titled cupcake. The cupcake was a border line banana bread with a faint banana taste. I thought the icing would heal the cupcake or at least congregate w/ the cupcake to make an overall good taste, instead, the icing was quite ordinary-tasting and didn't bring anything special to cake. Perhaps that was my fault because I cut the ingredients in half because the icing recipe would have yielded much too much for the amount of cupcakes. Overall the cupcake was just okay. It was ordinary, nothing fancy or anything to call home about. Just cocoa-tasting and bland. I hope this feedback helps. See my photo if you'd like. They look quite pretty. I had to dress it up a bit to make up for the taste using toasted coconut flakes I had left over from a different cupcake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annarepublic May 09, 2011

Very moist and tasty, as well as easy to prepare. I subbed almond milk (because I had it on hand) and omitted the icing. I figure these are healthy enough to go in my son's lunch box without the icing to make a mess! Great use for overripe bananas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech May 04, 2011

Yummy! I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar, as suggested. They turned out so good! Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Dia April 13, 2011

This review is for the cupcakes only, not the frosting. These were a wonderful, moist cake that didn't dry out a few days after making. They tasted delicious without the frosting, but I'm sure would be absolutely amazing with a frosting for a special treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baked Therapy February 24, 2010

Very tasty! As you can see from the photo, instead of cupcakes, I made muffin-top cakes. Came out nice and moist after 10 minutes in the oven @ 350F. Loved the cream cheese frosting. Thnx for sharing your recipe, Sweety. Made for Comfort Cafe Snow Queen Chalet Jan 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter January 09, 2010

My kids loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shygirl October 14, 2008

Turned out to be quite lovely and moist. The recipe could have used more sugar, but it was fine for me. Maybe when I'm baking for guests I'll remember to add an extra 1/4 cup of sugar as KITTENCAL did. Thanks Sweety!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Nabiha* August 25, 2008

I can only echo the other reviewers. I skipped the frosting to save all the fat and sugar. To make the cakes more diabetic friendly I used Splenda in place of the sugar, 1/4 cup of egg white and cut the oil to 1 tbsp (I made 8 cakes). As stated they are soft, moist and delicious. Thanks for this one Sweety.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 10, 2008

This is a nice easy and yummy recipe, thanks! I followed the adjustments Kittencal made and I didn't make the frosting. I'll be making this again whenever I have excess bananas =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akubi-chan July 17, 2007

For a lower fat cupcake these are really good, I increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons and also the sugar to 1-1/4 cups, I even made the icing, although I used full-fat cream cheese, thanks for sharing SweetySJD!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 02, 2007
Cocoa Banana Cupcakes