10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are absolutely delicious! We have taken to calling them "Yip-Yips" because we like the name. I add a little garlic. That's it. Not too sweet and the meat is extra tender from the cola. I serve them on whole wheat potato rolls. YummY! I've also browned the meat added the onion and then the flour, and then put everything in the crock pot to cook all day on low and it comes out great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Violinistame March 04, 2009

Prepared for dinner this evening for just my DH and myself (half recipe) we ate every bite - DH said it was excellent. Thanks for posting Kathy D.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo February 24, 2015

I prepared these sloppy joes the other day, but I'm sorry I have to say, they did not wow us. I doubled the recipe, and only added 1-1/2 cups of the Coke, as it already seemed like there was too much cola/liquid in the mix already. After the mixture cooked for 30 minutes, I found I still needed to thicken it up, so I added 3 tablespoons of Flaxseed, and that helped. While these sloppy joes smelled delicious while simmering, but when eating them, they seemed rather bland. For those who like their sloppy joes with not much spice, I would recommend this recipe, but I like my sloppy joes with a bit more spice, plus celery, and diced red and green bell peppers. I'm sorry I wasn't able to give this recipe a more positive review, but I'm glad to see others enjoyed these sloppy joes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess April 29, 2013

I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I actually have had this recipe for a long time now & I was just looking around to see if someone had it on here. I'm so glad you do & recommend it to any one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COC in East Troy, WI October 10, 2009

they were good ,different tastiing than any can version easy to prepare

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stovetop stephanie January 21, 2008

Very yummy, the 6 year old ate TWO and this is a picky kid. DH thought it was too sweet and suggested maybe using half the amount of catsup and the other half chili sauce but he is more a Maid Rite man than a sloppy joe man. He still had 3 of these tho LOL. I thought it was perfect, not too sweet not too sloppy. I served it with corn on the cob. I will be making this again. Great post, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse June 15, 2007

Coca-cola in sloppy joes----sounded weird but boy, was it tasty!! We will be using this recipe every time we do sloppy joes from now on. I only used 1 T. of the vinegar and it was great. Served it with Easy & Quick Tater Tot Casserole #137858. Thanks for listing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jl miller March 07, 2006

I was interested in trying this recipe because for a long time I haven't liked the recipe I've made for the past 40 years as much as I used to. (age seems to sometimes change our tastebuds!) I only made minor changes to the recipe. I added a teaspoon of salt and pepper since I knew my family would not like the flavor without it. I also was only able to use 1 teaspoon of the dry mustard because that was all I had left in my container. This was wonderful! In fact I think I would not add the 2nd teaspoon of dry mustard next time it was so good! I usually only eat one sloppy joes when I make them and DH eats 2. Not last night...I ate 2 and he ate 3! That says it all! He couldn't believe thatit had coke in it! Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ January 11, 2006

This was good, really different than the canned sloppy joe sauce. All I had in the house was Dr Pepper and I was afraid that would make it too sweet but it didn't. I served this with Parmesan Baked Potatoes #140144 and it made a nice meal for a week night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea October 27, 2005

We all agreed this is a keeper, very different from all the other sloppy joes I've made. The taste is hard to describe-but it seemed similiar to french dressing, very unique. Thank You for a great recipe kmdipaolo-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat October 15, 2005
Coca Cola Sloppy Joes