Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coarse Black Pepper-Cheese Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coarse Black Pepper-Cheese Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2005

      This bread was not as "cheddary" as some others I've made, but it is delicious and makes wonderful sandwiches. Love the little kick the pepper gives. I added a bit of asiago cheese to the cheddar. It also made the most beautiful loaves of all in my traditional Christmas bread baking marathon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      Made this to go with dinner last night and it was great. Loved the bite of the pepper, and the flavor of the cheese. I did a few things different. Cut the recipe in half to make one loaf. Added sourdough starter for half of the yeast to give it that sourdough zing. Added gluten to increase the rise, used sharp cheddar cut in cubes instead of grated and made it all, including kneading in my KA. Even so it made one HUGE loaf, that was soft and light on the inside with a great crusty outside slices of this will be great on sandwiches. I will be using this recipe again. Thinking I might even try making it in rolls. A great recipe as is, and I loved my small changes too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      delicious!! this is a fairly quick bread to make since it only has 1 short rise. i used cubed pepper jack and monterrey cheeses (a little more than called for). came out very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This was a wonderful bread! I even messed up and forgot the sugar and it was still really wonderful. I used my kitchenaid for the whole process including mixing in the cheese and kneading. This did completely incorporate the cheese into the bread, but we still tasted the cheddar. I did use about two cups of diced sharp cheddar cheese. It took about 30 minutes to bake here. Thanks so much, planning to make again with the sugar! LOVED the cracked pepper, so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2004

      What a nice, flavorable loaf of bread. I really liked the pepper and cheese flavors. The recipe is very easy to follow. I wanted to make this as you directed before making substitutions. It is definately on my keeper list. Thanks, MizPK for sharing this wonderful bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      I have made this and we love it. I substituted chopped green chilis for the black pepper. It is really good! Num

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      Kit, we LOVED this bread!!!...and not too hard to make either LOL! As Susie, I also added olive oil in place of shortening, and used quick rise yeast. I also shaped mine in one large loaf. Delicious bread! the black pepper was not too overpowering, just the right amount. This is a bread I will make again and again...you got another winner here Kit! thanks for posting....Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      Kitty, this bread is scrumptious!! I followed your recipe easily. The only change I made was to use olive oil instead of shortening. I made one big round loaf and baked it on my baking stone for 25 minutes. It turned out golden brown on the outside. The flecks of black pepper on the inside mingled very nicely with the cheddar flavor. My family just loved it! I already have orders to make this again, soon! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coarse Black Pepper-Cheese Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1649.8
     
    Calories from Fat 481
    29%
    Total Fat 53.4 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 165.1 mg
    55%
    Sodium 2769.1 mg
    115%
    Total Carbohydrate 236.7 g
    78%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    54%
    Protein 52.3 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes