10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my goodness these muffins are amazing! Just made them for the first time this morning, and I don't think I'll ever bother making any other kind of bran muffin! These will be my new go-to breakfast treat. They are so similar to the Mimi's cafe bran muffin---actually probably better! The tip about boiling the rasins in water before pureeing them was very helpful. There are a lot of steps (and you'll probably dirty a lot of dishes!) to these, but it is so worth it! I, too, baked these in silicone muffin pans and they popped out great. Wow. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wheresjen May 22, 2011

I loved this recipe and my wife loves me more for having tried it. I cut the honey in half and in its place used molasses for the glaze. I got this idea from someone who worked at Mimi's and knew more about their recipe. With the extra glaze I drizzled the top of the batter before baking it. This gave the top of the muffins the same moist texture that was on the bottoms. Do it. Also, inadvertently I used oat brand instead of wheat brand. They still turned out amazing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JAMES N. October 25, 2013

First- I could have easily divided the glaze in half. I used the glaze in the tin and on the top of each muffin every time and still have at least half left.

Second- I feel like the amount of honey in this recipe is way too much. If I use this recipe again, I will cut down the amount in the glaze as well as the muffin recipe by at least 25%.

I cooked the first dozen for 20 minutes and they were kind of dry, so the second I did 18 minutes and the third 17 minutes. I would definitely recommend 17-18 minutes.

And last, I am a wheat-a-holic and love using wheat in everything, so I did use 1 C of wheat flour as another reviewer had mentioned, and even with my love of wheat I didn't feel that it was the best in this recipe, so I would also recommend just using white flour or maybe 1/2 C of wheat flour and the rest white if you really would like to add some.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissSheryl May 18, 2012

Great base recipe. I made some alterations because we love mimi's muffins but we also are watching our processed sugar intake. So I did a mixture of raisins and dates for my puree and added 2 Tbsp flax seeds and a 1/4 of water to add moisture and fiber. I also subbed the oil for unsweetened apple sauce. I used 1 C AP flour and 2 C Wheat Flour, I needed to add a bit more buttermilk because Whole Wheat Flour soaks up more liquid and the batter was a bit dry. My kids love raisins in their muffins so they sprinkled about a half cup more whole raisins into the batter before we portioned it into the muffin tin to bake. They were fantastic, even without the syrup over the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mechelle M. January 28, 2015

Very clever innovative recipe - changed a few things to taste after the first time, but otherwise these are spectacular. Almost half the bulk is the fruit - I never would have guessed. And the bran was just the right proportion so that the muffins are still light. Wonderful.<br/><br/>The only change I would make is to the prep time - I have made these three times - never got the glaze and the batter assembled and put in the pans in less than 35 minutes. There are a lot of ingredients to gather and measure!!! It also made 3.5 dozen in my tins - although mine are so old they might be an entirely different size.<br/><br/>Thank you so much for developing and posting this recipe. Quite a wonderful treat - we tray freeze and keep them for weeks (if we don't have company - if we do they have not lasted that long:))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne C. August 31, 2014

These are really fantastic! I boiled the raisins for a few minutes before processing them...makes a big difference!<br/><br/>The only thing that was a little strange was the glaze. To me, a glaze is able to be poured and mine never got past the creamed butter stage. I brushed it on anyway and then melted about a cup of the leftovers (it made a TON). I brushed the tops of the muffins with the melted glaze about 15min in to the baking time.<br/><br/>I used a nonstick pan as well as a regular uncoated metal pan. Oddly, they stuck to the non-stick pan but came right out of the uncoated.<br/><br/>All in all, this is a great recipe! I'll be making them again soon because I don't see them lasting long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anniesuzannie27 January 21, 2014

These taste just like Mimi's oat bran muffins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lmadden1110 March 05, 2013

These turned out great. The texture is scrumptious! I used prunes and some whole wheat flour (1 cup whole wheat flour + 2 cups all purpose flour). I also had a little of the glaze left over after coating the muffin tins, so i brushed it on top of the muffins about 5 min before they came out of the oven. The glaze really makes these resemble Mimi's muffins and keeps them super moist. I used a silicon muffin pan and all of the muffins came out no problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eewaffarn April 14, 2009

Excellent muffins, very different. A few stuck in the pans but for the most part they slid out very easily, and were enjoyed by the family, and the childrens friends! I got a comfortable 24. Made in remembrance of CoolMonday, a very special lady.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth November 26, 2007

Scrumptious muffins, CoolMonday! Very unique the way you brush the tins with the glaze (before the batter). I used two and 1/2 cups dates and 1/2 cup raisins. I softened a bit with some boiling water (then drained) to plump them and make it easier to puree. I think I'll get roughly 3 dozen out of the batter. These were enjoyed by the rest of the family, even my daughter (who prefers white grains!). Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado August 25, 2006
Close to Mimi's Honey Bran Muffins